I Can’t Even See My Comfort Zone From Here

Start where you areI started working with my IRONMAN coach. One of the reasons that I decided to do  this IM was to do something way outside my comfort zone.  Turns out it’s really uncomfortable out here.  I may regret saying this later on, but right now I’m really looking forward to being well into the training, having my equipment, and just being in the grind of increasing distance and speed.  Right now it seems like everything is either new and I don’t know what the hell I’m doing (starting with a swim coach on Thursday) or different (see below re: my run program) both of which vastly increase the chances of me looking ridiculous in public, which isn’t my favorite thing.

Currently I’m adjusting to a new running program and my first long run was kind of a disaster.  My coach was very clear that we were trying something new and that it might need some tweaking so it wasn’t unexpected and I have plenty of time before the marathon that is the next race on my schedule and of course plenty of time before the IM but it still sucked. Though I wasn’t able to make all of my pace goals, and I was totally exhausted from trying, I finished the full run.  Tonight was a workout with all kinds of stability drills – high knees, skips, bounding, sumo squats etc.  These are things I haven’t done in a long time and I’m sure it will entertain anyone who watches the security feed.

Soon enough it will be about grinding it out and improving my skills.  Right now it’s about gutting it out (physically and psychologically) and acquiring those skills.  It’s not easy, it’s not comfortable, and that’s exactly what I asked for.

Inspiration of the Day:

More Cool Stuff:

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

If you’re looking for motivation you can check out my IM Motivation Pinterest.

If you just can’t get enough of my blogging, you can check out my main blog at www.danceswithfat.org

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can’t Even See My Comfort Zone From Here

  1. expendableenergy says:

    any training program takes time to adjust to. just keep putting one foot in front of the other. you’ll get there! i cant wait to hear about swimming!

    Like

  2. I am just so in awe of anyone who does the 70.3 and IM distances. I have to psych myself up just to do the Olympic distance. I totally believe that this feat is a LOT about mental power in addition to the obvious physical training one has to do, so it doesn’t surprise me one iota that you have the mental fortitude to accomplish whatever outside-your-current-comfort-zone task you set your mind to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

