A Year Until A Half

Yesterday in my declared hometown of Austin, TX (declared because I didn’t grow up there but I lived there far longer than I’ve lived anywhere else) a sold out Ironman 70.3 was held.  This race used to be called a “Half Ironman” but is now called Ironman 70.3 I assume because the idea that hauling your ass through 70.3 miles of swimming, biking, and running is “half” of anything is completely ridiculous.

This race is important to me because next year I will be doing it.  Between now and then there will be tons of training, a marathon, and a number of shorter distance triathlons and maybe some other events as well, but next year in late October I will attempt to do in Austin half of what I will attempt to do the following year in November in Tempe, Arizona.

My Ironman is two years and one month away, and sometimes that seems really far away and sometimes it seems incredibly soon. It helps to break the training up among other events, and it will be nice to get validation of my training at  the events.

Somewhere from the deep recesses of my mind this popped up and, because you can find anything on the internet, I’m passing it on to you:

More Cool Stuff:

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

If you’re looking for motivation you can check out my IM Motivation Pinterest.

If you just can’t get enough of my blogging, you can check out my main blog at www.danceswithfat.org

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year Until A Half

  1. Moniqa Aylin says:

    Hmm, Austin. That’s not *too* far from me. *Ponders attempting an Ironman with Ragen* I will have to research this event, its costs, and whether it has a time limit and think hard about this thing.

    Like

  2. libilou says:

    You know, the internet has created a new word that really applies to you. AWESOMESAUCE! Truly, you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

