Running Into Next Year

If you run you are a runnerI’ve been told that what you are doing on New Year’s Eve is what you’ll be doing the rest of the year, so I decided to write about how my running is improving.

Running is definitely the triathlon discipline with which I currently struggle the most.  Distance running is not something that I’ve ever enjoyed or been good at. I still don’t enjoy it and I’m still not good at it, but I am getting better which is all I care about.

Up to this point we’ve been using fairly short intervals for my runs – we use them in different ways for different training days – speed work, long runs, etc. My intervals have been increasing – the longest and most intense are 4 minutes longer and 4 minutes per mile faster than when I started with my coach three months ago. Progress, however slow, however painful, progress just the same.

On Monday night I was assigned a longer run – 30 minutes of steady run.  I’m sure for lots of people that’s no big deal but for me it’s a lot.  I was dubious at best when I finished my warm up and took off for my long run.

The first 5 minutes were ok and then my calves cramped up.  I took a quick stretch break, they cramped up again at 14.5 minutes and I stretched, they cramped up again almost immediately and I gave up on relieving the cramps and just ran the last 15.5 minutes straight through. So I did more than I thought I could, go me.

It’s easy to get frustrated with this kind of slow steady progress (at least it is for me), or to not see the progress at all.  But I’m getting better, I’ll keep getting better, and it will all be worth it when I cross that finish line.

More Cool Stuff:

If you’re looking for a body positive fitness challenge in the New Year with tons of flexibility and without any diet talk, weight loss talk, or body shaming, check out the Fit Fatties Forum Virtual Event Challenge!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

 

 

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running Into Next Year

  1. lsstrout says:

    Bummer on the cramps! I’m going to try to get back into walking habit this year.

    Like

  2. Timpani says:

    I take calcium supplements for calf cramps (some runners I know pop TUMS every time they get them). Good job on the long run!

    Like

  3. tscateh says:

    I agree with @TImpani – I take calcium for cramps. Other people may need magnesium or potassium; experiment a little, or take a mineral supplement that has them all. Go you with the run!

    Like

Leave a Reply

