Just Keep Swimming

Ragen SwimmingLast night was my third lap swim.  Swimming continues to suck less than running, but most things – some days including a root canal – suck less than running so that’s the kind of bar that one can trip and fall over.

Last time I swam laps I did a little over a mile in a little under an hour.  I took breaks on that swim, so my swim coach asked me this week to see how long I could swim without a break.  It turns out that I can pretty easily swim 1.1 miles in an hour with no breaks. I stopped because my hour was up but I could have easily continued.  I’m still focused on my technique so I wasn’t making any effort at speed.  My lap speed stayed consistent throughout, the swim was easy, I wasn’t fatigued and I felt like I could have continued for quite some time, and this is in spite of the fact that I had four hours of sleep the night before and spent the day running around Disneyland.

This – swimming long distances without breaks – is a big step in my march toward the IRONMAN.  Next November at my 70.3 (“Half IM” event) I will have 1 hour and 10 minutes to swim 1.2 miles.  The following November I will have 2 hours and 20 minutes to swim 2.4 miles.

Of course it’s in open water and that’s very different from the pool, and of course I’m trying to do it faster than that because the swim and the bike are about buying myself as much time as I can for the run.  Still, I feel like this is pretty good progress from November when the only thing I was excelling at when it came to swimming was my tolerance for drinking pool water in lieu of breathing.

More Cool Stuff:

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

If you’re interested in Size Acceptance, you can check out my main blog at www.danceswithfat.org

Check out my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Keep Swimming

  1. Susan says:

    Wow, you are doing amazingly! After years of doing super sprints (.25 miles ) I moved up to sprints (.5 miles ) and I am slow. Open water is more fun than pool swimming.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nosnikrapzil says:

    Wow Ragen you are doing amazingly, that is a really good time, and you aren’t fatigued.

    Like

  3. Mary J Weslow says:

    Rejoicing in your progress!

    Cheers!

    MJ

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  4. That is so fantastic! I know exactly what you mean about drinking pool water in lieu of breathing. 😀 How exciting 😀

    Like

  5. gem says:

    Great work, that’s awesome

    Like

Leave a Reply

