The Stasis of Suck

Sucking in one sport is not enoughThere is a move in dance called a slip pivot.  It was a move I struggled with for some time.  The first time my coach tried to lead me through it, it brought us to an abrupt and awkward stop. We kept working on it, I kept practicing, eventually I was able to do a slip pivot easily.  I went from sucking to not sucking. Success.

East Coast Swing is a fast and aerobic dance, the first time I tried to get through a full 2 minute competition routine I was really winded.  I kept working on the two minute interval, it got easier over time.  By the time I got to competition, I had no trouble getting through the dance. I went  from sucking to not sucking.  Success.

One of the things that is interesting about training for the IRONMAN is that it is a process of constantly increasing distance and time (sometimes alternately, sometimes at the same time.) such that “progress” doesn’t necessarily mean that my workouts feel better, but that my general feeling of suckiness remains constant at an increased time and/or distance.

Case in point – Wednesdays are speedwork which means intervals at the highest speed I can manage.  The interval time has increased four minutes, and the speed has increased 5 minutes per mile since I started training.  I still feel like I’m going to die at the end of each workout but I’ve gone farther, faster, for a longer time period.  It’s the stasis of suck.

I have almost two years of this ahead of me now and so in addition to working hard to increase my speed and distance at the three disciplines of triathlon, I’m also working hard to adjust my idea of success to the stasis of suck.

More Cool Stuff:

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Stasis of Suck

  1. antimony says:

    “It doesn’t get any easier, you just get faster”
    — Greg LeMond (first, and after the doping disqualifications, only American to win the Tour de France)

    Never not applicable. Some of it gets familiar, which isn’t to say easy, but it’s less brain-challenging alongside the body-challenging.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Moniqa Aylin says:

    Haha, I love and grok this post so hard.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lsstrout says:

    Oh, this made me laugh!
    But it is an excellent point.

    Like

  4. V Missirian says:

    I’m going through something similar as I bring myself back again into speed training mode 🙂

    Like

  5. Tina carrier says:

    Thanks it reminds me to keep going when I feel like “shouldn’t i be zipping about the pool by now?”, super job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

