Here Goes Everything

Registration ConfirmationAt my swim lesson last week, my coach Ingrid let me know that Tempe, Arizona (where I’m doing my full IRONMAN next year) had just announced that they are doing an IRONMAN 70.3 this October (this used to be called a “half IM” but then somebody realized that the idea that traveling 70.3 miles under your own power is “half” of anything seemed a bit ridiculous)

Regular readers will remember that I planned to do the Austin 70.3 in November of this year. I wrestled a bit with whether or not to change my plans since it gives me a couple weeks less to train (and I need all the time I can get!) and I really wanted to do it in my home town. In the end I decided that I couldn’t pass up the chance to actually be on the course that I’ll do my full IM on.

So, as of a couple of minutes ago I am registered for the Arizona IRONMAN 70.3 in Tempe, Arizona on October 18. This year’s full IM in Tempe set a record for how fast it filled up and so there was some concern that it would be difficult to register (there are all kinds of horror stories floating around the forums of people getting locked out of computer registration.)  It opened at 9am Pacific so I was awake at 8am logging into my IRONMAN account, and getting multiple browser windows set up on two different computers.

I had also been told that they might open early so I headed to the IMAZ 70.3 page and starting hitting refresh.  At 8:37 the big red “CLICK HERE TO REGISTER NOW” button appeared.  I clicked it and was taken to a page that let me know that registration was not open yet.  WHY????!!!!!!!

I used to think that nothing could make time seem to move more slowly than running on a treadmill. Friends, I was wrong.  Clicking “refresh” every 10 seconds for 23 minutes has that beat. If had done the registration on a treadmill, I feel that time might actually have gone backwards.

In the end, it turned out to be absolutely no problem. At 9:00:10 I hit refresh and there was the registration page, I completed the first page and it told me that I had 15 minutes to complete everything.  I entered my personal information, I clicked that I understood the time requirements, I clicked that I understood that if I died it was my fault for paying to do something so ridiculous. I gave my credit card number and that was that.

So 7 days after my birthday this year I will be swimming 1.2 miles, biking 56 miles, and running 13.1 miles all in less than 8.5 hours.  Happy birthday to me.

Part of me is like “Woo Hoo!” and the other part is like “What the fuck was I thinking?” It doesn’t matter because all of me will be doing this in 220 days, 21 hours, 4 minutes and 44…43…42 seconds.  But who’s counting.

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Here Goes Everything

  1. Kate says:

    Awww, I was totally looking forward to cheering you on in Austin….but either way I hope you do a great job and don’t die 🙂

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Woot! Ragen the Brave (and slightly crazy)!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. tehomet says:

    You have nerves of steel!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am SO psyched for you and I can empathize with the diametric feelings of euphoria and WTF did I just do? when you register. Yay!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kiki says:

    Whoohoo! What an awesome birthday present to yourself.
    And 70.3 definitely sounds better than “Oh, it’s just half an IM”, becasue ZOMG, that’s a lot of distance.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. CraftyKhandy says:

    Congrats!! I love that Race Submission buzz!!

    Like

  7. Valda says:

    Congratulations! I put that date on my calendar and I’ll be rooting for you long distance. You can do it!

    Like

  8. Stacy says:

    Here we go – the adventure just got more intense! I’m so happy to see you’ve decided to do this and so proud of you for putting your fears aside and chasing after what you want. So many people let their fears hold themselves back, but you’ve grabbed a hold of life with both hands! You’re definitely one of my heroes! I’m so proud of you and happy to be following your journey. If you hear some shouting coming from the West, it’s just me out here in Cali cheering you on! 😀

    Like

  9. You rock. Just keep swimming…

    Like

  10. Annie says:

    Way to go girl!! Geeze I might just fly over to take a photo as you come through that ribbon on the finish line!
    Annie Murray xx

    Like

  11. Thalia says:

    SO awesome. Go, go, go!

    Like

  12. KatMacall says:

    That’s awesome! I look forward to reading about your progress. Sure you’ll crush it! 🙂

    Like

  13. KP says:

    Awesome! That’s so exciting! Go you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

