More Traveling and Training

Well Traveled Pug

Biscuit the Pug loved hotels (this is her on her special bed from the Westin) and she didn’t worry about a training schedule because the only thing she was interested in running for was food. I fully support her choice!

In many ways when it comes to work and doing an IRONMAN I’m quite lucky.  I am self-employed so most of the time I set my own schedule – I don’t have to try to fit my workouts in around a strict work schedule (or a work schedule that’s ever-changing and not in my control as many people in retail and food service are forced to deal with). Still, one of the ways that this gets tricky for me is travel. I charge a flat fee honorarium and encourage the places that hire me to speak to book me for as many events as they would like. That means that I often fly in late at night, and then my next few days will be packed from 7am -10pm without a pool or spin room or track  available after that, and running for miles in a place I’ve never been (the only skill weaker than my running is my ability to navigate) at 11pm seems a bit ill-advised.

Sometimes what you need just isn’t available. I recently posted this update to the online training software that my coach and I use:

Sorry, traveling this week and no pool available at the hotel I stayed at, no 24 hour fitness with a pool nearby, 24 hour gym with a pool that I’m not a member of wouldn’t let me pay to come once and use the pool. Pacific ocean was cold and full of sharks. Options exhausted

Oh well, swim is my strongest of the three disciplines, so it’s far better to miss a swim than a run.  This week I’m changing my schedule around to avoid having to run in Michigan in 30 degree weather in the middle of the night.

Don’t get me wrong – I feel incredibly lucky to get to do something for work that I’m passionate about and that people tell me makes a real difference in their lives.  I absolutely love what I do and I wouldn’t trade it for anything, this is just another little obstacle to overcome on the way to the finish line.

More Cool Stuff:

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Traveling and Training

  1. ebay313 says:

    You say 30 degrees in Michigan like that’s a bad thing… it’s spring!!! We got nice, warm, 30 degree, spring weather! Whoo!!!!
    Just teasing of course 🙂
    Though as a native Michigander I really am celebrating this warm 30 degree weather lol.

    Like

  2. jwassists says:

    Biscuit the Pug has the right idea!

    Like

  3. fl_commenter says:

    Most Universities have a pool and gym facilities. You could make pool and gym access part of your speaking engagement requirements. I seriously doubt anyone would bat an eye at that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

