Six Months Until A Half

Six months leftIt seems like yesterday that I was blogging about having a year until my IRONMAN 70.3. And now that time has been cut in half, or actually a little more than half since they announced that there is going to be a 70.3 in Arizona on the course that I’m going to be doing my full IRONMAN in a year and a half.

So what do I know now that I’m six months farther along?

Finding equipment is even more ridiculous than I thought it would be:  from the wetsuit drama, to the (ongoing) bike drama (blog post to come soon), to just finding clothing in my size.  It’s like a whole separate IRONMAN just getting myself to the starting line with the equipment I need.  (There’s an entire post – at least – in talking about the hypocrisy of a society that hounds fat people to exercise – total bullshit of course, nobody of any size has any obligation to exercise- but makes it so difficult to find equipment that works for us.)

Some people are jerks – Ok, I already knew this one, I’m just always surprised by it. I simply would never choose to use my free time to tell someone whose work I disagree with that I hope they fail at some personal goal they’ve chosen, but apparently there are lots of trolls who don’t share my values.  Every single day people take their precious time on Earth to let me know that they hope I fail, or die, or fail and then die.  Not to mention the long drawn out abuses of mathematics to suggest that what I want to do (and often things I’ve already done in workouts) are mathematically impossible.  Go volunteer for something you believe in why dontcha?

Lots of  people are awesome So many people have used their precious time on Earth to support me and I could not be more grateful. Huge massive big fat thanks to my partner Julianne who has been completely amazing, my family (Julianne, my mom and her best friend, and my Best Friend and his husband are all traveling to Arizona to be there for my 70.3,) Everyone who takes the time to say encouraging things on this blog, Twitter, and Facebook, the people in the Fit Fatties Forum,(thanks for all the great advice as well!) my friends who I get to see offline who ask me how I doing, my physical therapists Julie and Arnold who are always super encouraging, my coaches Steve and Ingrid,  and anyone who I may have missed.  I have a massive support network and I truly appreciate all of you!

I was right about the lessons: One of the big reasons that I started this whole journey was because I wanted to see what lessons there were in going outside of my athletic comfort zone.  Even without the constant discouragement and death wishes, getting up and trying to set a PR or two every day doing things that I don’t really love doing and that I’m not really good at  is giving me lots of opportunities to push out of my comfort zone and really test my will to achieve a goal I set for myself.

I’m on track and I have 6 month to make this happen and I believe I will cross the finish line in Arizona in October. Right now I gotta get back out there because there’s lots more to learn!

More Cool Stuff:

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Six Months Until A Half

  1. lsstrout says:

    I applaud your determination in the face of so little equipment available. ROCK ON!

    Like

  2. You got this in the bag. The inner strength it takes to deal with all the BS you manage with total aplomb and wit and brilliance is EXACTLY what will take you through your 70.3 and your IM. You are a rock star who can do anything. I’m so thrilled that you’re going to have a cheering section for you in Arizona — that makes such a huge difference!

    Like

  3. (which is not to say that your physical strength and endurance aren’t important too — I was just assuming you knew that 😉 )

    Like

  4. MTMS says:

    You GO girl!

    Like

  5. Jessica says:

    My friend Amanda told me about your blog (she’s danced with you at EmFATtic Dance). I just read through the entire thing. In 2012 I too set a two year goal to do IMAZ; completing it last year. I went through many of the mental and physical (and mental – did I mention mental) struggles you’re experiencing. What never happened to me were rude comments, praying, egg throwing, or (Jesus) moo’ing. You rock for continuing to move forward despite all the douchery. This is a crazy enough journey without all this outside BS you’re dealing with. The good news is that, for the most part, I’ve found the triathlon community to be very welcoming to anyone who wants to toe the line. I hope you find it to be the same. I can’t wait to continue reading about your journey. I have no doubt Mike Reilly’s going to call your name. My IMAZ training blog is here: http://oaktownmom.tumblr.com/ if you want to check it out.

    Like

    • Hi Jessica,

      Congratulations on becoming an IRONMAN. I just read your race report and it was really inspiring (and helpful!) I can’t wait to read the rest of your blog. Thank you SO MUCH for the support, it means a lot to me (and say hi to Amanda for me!)

      ~Ragen

      Like

  6. Sara says:

    Hi,
    I just wanted to thank you for having this blog. It’s really inspiring! I’ve secretly wanted to do an Iron Man since I was a kid but I always figured there was no way I’d ever be in shape enough to do it. Your blog has given me the courage to go ahead and try for it! The day I discovered your blog, I went ahead and signed up for an Iron Girl at the end of this summer. I’m aiming to do a half IM next year, and depending on how I’m doing I’ll try for IMLP either next year or the year after. I’m going for it and I have your blog to thank for that! I’m really looking forward to reading how the race goes for you. Best of luck!

    Like

  7. new2town says:

    Ragen of 6 months ago is probably in awe of what you’ve been able to accomplish both physically and emotionally. Let’s go ahead and assume you’ll be in awe of Ragen 6 months from now because you continue to do amazing things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

