The Cry Every Day Stage of My Training

Celebrate Small VictoriesI’m less than two months away from my IRONMAN 70.3, the halfway test on my journey to complete IMAZ 2016.  When people ask me how the training is going I tell them I’m at the “cry every day” stage.

I’m mostly joking.  Mostly.  I’m incredibly busy doing stuff that I love – writing and editing books, coordinating conferences, partnering with corporate training companies, preparing for speaking gigs, moderating online communities, and blogging (though not as much here as I’d like on this blog). Add to that longer and longer workouts, and here come the tears.

It was like this before when I was dancing, but unlike when I used to be this busy and dance, the workouts are not stress relief. I feel like no matter what I do I’m never doing enough, and never going fast enough. Then I got really sick last week and missed several days of training and I feel like I need every single day sooooo, I’m basically freaking out a little bit.

This is part of the journey that I signed up for, and everyone who I talk to who has done an IM says that they went through this and it’s completely normal,  but that doesn’t make it less difficult. So I’m spending some time reading cheesy inspirational quotes, watching some cheesy inspirational movies, and reminding myself that I can only do what I can do, and celebrating my victories. And crying, but not necessarily everyday.

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

I’m having a sale on my books and DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price!Click here for details

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cry Every Day Stage of My Training

  1. Toogz says:

    Hun – you don’t owe it to anybody but yourself. If you have a bad/sick day, or you’re just not feeling ready for it, it doesn’t matter. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I am so proud of you so far, and amazed at how far you’ve come. I don’t care how the race plays out, you’ve shown enough heart that you’re already an IRONMAN to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Graceann says:

    I couldn’t do it. I can barely stand long enough to cheer as you run/swim/ride past. I admire your tenaciousness, your strength and your sheer chutzpah so much. You, to put it eloquently, rock.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Holly says:

    Crying is an important part of the fabulous montage that will be playing in your head at the end of this. You are going to be amazing, no matter what!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lsstrout says:

    I’m glad other people told you this is a normal part of training. For me at least, when I realize I am going through some emotion that most other people go through, it makes it more bearable.

    *HUGS*

    Like

Leave a Reply

