Journeys, Destinations, and Selfie Sunday

I saw a quote last week from Jason Cohen of WPEngine.  He said ““You spend 99.9% of your life working on the path, and 0.1% experiencing the euphoria of an exit or the disappointment of a final failure. If you’re not fulfilled by the journey, you’re wasting your life.”   That really struck me, I feel like I’m not doing enough to enjoy the journey of this IRONMAN.

So I decided that I need to find more ways to enjoy the journey. The first thing that came to mind was that I do all these workouts with nothing interesting to show for it.  Of course I enter the time and distance and notes in the program that my coach and I use, but that’s not very fun. And that’s when I had the idea that is reaching fruition today – Selfie Sunday!

I’ll be taking selfies of each workout throughout the week (forcing me to smile for at least a couple seconds during each workout!) and posting them to the blog on Sunday. After doing it for a week I can say that it actually did make a difference, I looked forward to taking the selfie so it became a little reward for doing the workout, plus I now feel like I have a keepsake for myself for each workout.

I’ve had a number of people say that they would like to post selfies, but they are worried because they’ve seen internet trolls misuse the personal info that’s embedded.  The good news is you can remove your personal information before you post your pictures. even better, easier, and more thorough than what I was using before, just use FileMind QuickFix!  http://download.cnet.com/FileMind-QuickFix/3000-12511_4-75563232.html

So without further ado, here is the inaugural Selfie Sunday:

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Journeys, Destinations, and Selfie Sunday

  1. rabbiadar says:

    What a great idea! I’m going to start taking a selfie after my workouts, too. Thank you for the idea!

    Like

  2. Lola says:

    Cool! What a great idea! You rock. ❤ Hugs!

    Like

  3. ebay313 says:

    I love workout selfies. Before a workout it can make me feel pumped and excited for what I’m doing, and after a good workout sometimes I just want to take a selfie to commemorate how awesome I feel… then there are between weight lifting set selfies that are just because I’m bored lol.

    Like

  4. M Paullet says:

    Go you! I love selfies and love them as a tool of feminism.

    Like

  5. Jamie says:

    You have inspired me to start running and not be self-conscious about it- something I was scared of when I was thinner and never thought would be a part of my life. But I am starting to get it… So I can’t say thank you enough for the inspiration and the resources!

    Like

  6. Juliana says:

    loved the idea. i’m not training for anything but i do go jogging along the beach (i live in copacabana-rio de janeiro). i like it and don’t it for weight loss purposes anymore, but sometimes it just feels so repetitive (even though i don’t take the landscape for granted, it’s something my eyes got used to). but if i take a picture, either it is a selfie or just a normal picture, i appreciate that moment so much, in retrospect – the fact that i can be there, exercise there, enjoy my body there and so on – thay it makes me want to go back soon. a virtuous circle! good vibes from brazil; wish you the best!

    Like

  7. Megan says:

    I am jealous of your sunshine and beaches! That’s a beautiful place to train. Is the ocean swimmable there, or are you stuck with the pool?

    Like

Leave a Reply

