Inspiration Friday – Let Your Noob Hang Out

Let's do this!Well this was going to be Inspiration Thursday until I forgot to post it, so welcome to Inspiration Friday! Trying new movement/fitness stuff can be really uncomfortable.  In addition to having to gear up (in a bike shop and don’t have a clue what you are doing? Super fun!  No wait, the opposite of super fun.)  Then there’s feeling and being physically awkward as you try to master new types of movement. If you’re doing it in public, or talking about it online, there’s the risk that people will laugh at you.

I say who cares?  I think that the good of trying new stuff far outweighs the downsides -especially when the downsides are just the opinions of people we don’t care about.  When I started biking it was awful, but a few months (and hundreds of miles on my bike) have made a world of difference.  Now I’m comfortable on the bike, I’ve got my first half century ride under my belt, and I get to do the butt shaking happy dance of learning something new and getting good at it (and of course there’s still lots to learn!)

So if you want to try something new – whether it’s an aerial silk class,  a yoga class, or rolling a 5k in your wheelchair, in my experience it’s best to just let your noob hang out and embrace the state of having no idea what the hell you are doing, and the freedom of saying that out loud, because it will make it extra sweet when you do know what the hell you are doing. Of course, it’s also completely fine to try something and decide it’s not the thing for you!

Quotes of the Week:

With thanks to Jaene!

Don’t listen to those who say ‘you’re taking too big a chance.’ Michelangelo would have painted the Sistine floor, and it would surely be rubbed out by today. – Neil Simon

Dare to embarrass yourself. Risk. – Drew Barrymore

Song of the Week

Video of the Week

The Fat Activism Conference Is Back!  

This is a virtual conference so you can listen to the talks by phone and/or computer wherever you are. Whether you are looking for support in your personal life with family, friends, healthcare providers etc. or you’re interested in being more public with your activism with blogging, petitions, protest, projects, online activism, or something else, this conference will give you tools and perspectives to support you  and your work, and to help you make that work intentionally intersectional and inclusive, so that nobody gets left behind.

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having a sale on my books and DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

Buy my book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

