Selfie Sunday – 8.0

Selfie SundayBefore we get to the Selfies, I thought I would tell you the story of how my swim cap(s) got to be named Wilson. The swim cap has been an ongoing issue.  It creeps up on my head as I swim (in fact you can usually tell if I took the swim selfie before or after I swam based on whether or not the cap is on my brow line or my hair line!)  I’ve tried different caps, different materials, caps under caps, wetting my hair before, changing my hair under the cap, changing how I wear my googles, and I’ve found combinations that work better, but I still have trouble sometimes.

Like this week, during my ladder swim.  It’s a swim where you start with a number of laps and then work down, increasing speed as you go (so you might start with 6 laps, then 5.5, then 5  until you get to .5, trying to increase the pace/effort with each set.)  After each set there is a rest and I was having to fix my cap every time.  At one point I got so frustrated I took the cap and googles completely off to start over, I looked at the cap which was draped over my hand and said, out loud, “What is wrong with you?”  A voice behind me said “Do you need a volleyball?”  I turned around, confused and as the movie reference dawned on me with both said “WILSOOOOOOON” So I’ve decided that from now on I’ll call my swim cap Wilson and try to be friends with it.

With that, here are this week’s selfies (missing the picture from that ladder swim, I realized in the gym parking lot that I forgot!)

Want more selfies?

Selfie Sunday 1.0

Selfie Sunday 2.0

Selfie Sunday 3.0

Selfie Sunday International Edition (4.0)

Selfie Sunday One Week Until the 70.3 Edition (5.0)

Selfie Sunday 6.0

Selfie Tuesday (oops – better late than never!)

 

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Selfie Sunday – 8.0

  1. gsantollo says:

    Nice swimming is the best! What’s a typical swim workout for you this far out from az? I’m doing placid about 8month out most of my swims are 2500 meters to 3600 meters

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    So glad I’m not the only one that has to mess with my swim cap!

    Like

Leave a Reply

