Change for the Better – Inspiration Thursday

inspireDianne Bondy, is an amazing inspiration in so many ways.  Dianne is an “Author, Motivator, Risk Taker, Educator, Yoga Teacher, Leading Voice in the Diversity in Yoga and Yoga of Inclusion Movements.” Recently she partnered with plus-size (or, as I like to call them, sizes) clothing purveyor Pennnigton’s to make the following video that I could watch until my eyeballs fall out of my head:

Obviously, Dianne is a badass and an inspiration. I’m also inspired by the fact that this video happened – a clothing company didn’t just sell clothes for fat people, didn’t just reach out to a fat person to try to get other fat people’s business.  They  showcased the talent of a badass fat woman, and challenged fatphobia in the most in-your-face way possible, making it clear that the people who have a problem with fat people are the ones who have a problem.

Things are changing – it’s slow, it’s painful, sometimes it seems like one step forward and one step back, but it’s happening (I talked in my other blog this week about a therapist who used to be a fat shamer and is now a HAES advocate.) It inspires me to keep showing up, keep going after my goals, and keep working for a world where nobody is obligated to participate in fitness, but every body is be welcome!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change for the Better – Inspiration Thursday

  1. Maggie K. says:

    Wow! I love this video so much. It seems like often, the world of yoga (at least here in the U.S.) is dominated by thin white women and I think it’s a real problem. The heart and soul of yoga is not about donning Spandex and pushing yourself to achieve the expression of certain poses. It is about self acceptance, discipline, and self awareness. I have a reaction when people say they are “bad at yoga” if they can’t do certain poses, have difficulty with balance or flexibility, etc. In reality, you could lie on your mat for 45 minutes and as long as you are aware of your body and breath, you would be doing yoga and doing it just fine. I have done some training with an amazing organization in Seattle called the Samarya Center, and they have done great work in promoting diversity in yoga, including ability/disability, body size, race/ethnicity, gender, etc. It’s awesome and so refreshing! Worth checking out their website for sure.

    Like

  2. Erica says:

    I love this video and have watched it so many times since seeing it shared here. I love the music and her awesomosity. She is talented and seems to have a great spirit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

