Inspiration Thursday – Finding the Fathletes

Last week I shared a video of the absolutely amazing Dianne Bondy, and I got tons of reader email from people either saying that they either thought they were the only one out there doing yoga in a fat body, or that they didn’t even know that was possible for fat people.

It think that one of the most difficult things about being an athlete who is fat can be feeling like we’re alone.  The (completely ridiculous) insistence that happy fat people must be hidden lest we “promote obesity” means that we are often robbed of our role models.

Rarely does a day go by that I don’t get an e-mail from a blog reader (either from this blog or from danceswithfat telling me that they’ve always wanted to [take a dance class, roll a 10k in their wheelchair, try a martial art etc.] but they didn’t think that people their size could do it. It’s one of the reasons why I am so public about my own journey.

Nobody is ever obligated to participate in fitness, and those who do participate are no better than those who don’t.  But every body should be welcome in the fitness world, and everybody deserves to have role models! And one of the super coolest things about this is that just by doing what you want to do in a fat body, you are that role model for somebody.  You’ll never know how many people saw you and thought “maybe it is possible to live my dreams!”  So keeping rocking (and if you have stories of inspiring/being inspired by fathletes, or other places to go to connect to fathletes, please feel free to leave them in the comments!)

This is one of the times when the internet can help us, because even if you’re the lone fatty in your Bikram class, you can reach out around the world to find other fatties who share your athletic passions, dreams and goals, whatever they are.  So today I offer you:

Fathletes on Pinterest (I’m not affiliated with this one, I just think it’s cool.)

This resource page from a group that makes me want to move to Portland

The Fit Fatties Facebook Group Photos (you must be a member of the group to see them!)

And finally these two videos which I’ve posted here before.  I made these videos and I’ve watched them over and over again and I never cease to be inspired by the awesome people in them!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

