Serious Self-Care for Inspiration Thursday

On Monday I was a couple miles into my run and I was exhausted and dripping sweat. That seemed especially weird since my time for each of the miles was more than three minutes slower than normal.  Deep down I knew – I was in denial.

My partner had come back from a trip the week before with a nasty cold/flu virus thing.  It could not have been more obvious that I was getting it, and that I was not getting any good work done in this workout, but I kept pushing on that run because I was frustrated with the setbacks that I’ve been dealing with so far this year and I didn’t want to deal with another loss of training time.
Then I got home and saw this on Facebook:

Reality check:  The fact that I didn’t want to be sick didn’t mean that I wasn’t sick, and ignoring it was likely to prolong being sick and, if this run was any indication, not really lead to productive workouts. So I took care of myself and skipped some workouts. Frustrating yes, but not fatal.

I also forced myself to get some perspective on my run of beginning-of-the-year-bad-luck. These setbacks have been super annoying, but they don’t put my IRONMAN out of reach or anything, I’ve been working hard and I’ve got 10 months of training left and that’s plenty of time.  Also, feeling frustrated and angry isn’t helping my training so it’s best to let it go.  Part of keeping my cup full is keeping the struggles in perspective, and part of keeping my cup full is taking care of myself – which sometimes means skipping workouts – and that’s ok.

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serious Self-Care for Inspiration Thursday

  1. lsstrout says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Have you ever read about how successful people will visualize themselves succeeding at what they are doing? Like a basketball player visualizing themselves making a free throw?

    Thought I would suggest it as a way to help yourself out when you have to miss a workout.

    Like

  2. cbecker53 says:

    “You can’t pour from an empty cup.” Love it. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

