Selfie Monday – 293 Days to Go

Lola the Sloth Hang in there BabyAfter spending a week being sick, I was super excited to get back to my workouts last week.  I was supposed to start with a bike ride on Tuesday but, even though I felt better I was left with a nagging cough which, once it started I often couldn’t stop making the bike ride a no-go.  I had a good swim on Wednesday, a decent run on Thursday.  Friday was a second try and fail at the bike ride (coughing uncontrollably and riding a bike just really don’t go together) and then Saturday was speed work on the bike trainer which went very well.

Then yesterday (Sunday) I woke up sick. Really, really sick.  I think it was probably food poisoning because I stopped getting sick after 24 hours. I still feel pretty crappy but I just kept down some solid food for the first time since 9pm on Saturday so yay for that. And, as always, huge thanks to Julianne who was a Sprite fetching, broth making machine!

I’m over two and a half months into this second year of training for my IRONMAN and I am feeling beyond frustrated, I just feel like I can’t get any momentum going.  I’m looking for a bright side here and I’m thinking that I can use this frustration with not being able to do my workouts to motivate me on the days when I don’t want to do the workouts.  Who knew that it would be harder not to do the workouts?

So here are this week’s selfies. I’m ready to leave January behind and let February be the month of momentum for me!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Selfie Monday – 293 Days to Go

  1. “TCHA” is awesome 🙂 My TCHA is also my spare bedroom. Take care of yourself, above all. Workouts will always be there for when your immune system is up and functioning. I can empathize with some of the frustration you’re having (I have a chronic wad of sludge in the back of my throat that I can’t rid myself of, and it makes me cough and have to spit every time I workout). Feel better soon, Super Ironwoman!

    Like

  2. E says:

    ah, I’m sorry you’re sick Ragen. I have faith you’ll feel better soon and get back into training! Good luck 🙂

    Like

  3. ooakthistle says:

    Glad you’re doing better. That cough is going around here as well, and it’s knocking people out for weeks. And yes, more momentum to push through those work outs.

    Like

  4. lsstrout says:

    How sucky that you got a stomach bug! Glad the polar bears helped you out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

