A Quick Dip In A Cool Pool

Finally feeling better and back to workouts today.  I went to the pool for my swim, a series of pyramid sprints with short rests in between that my coach likes to remind me are more about working hard and building stamina than having perfect technique.  One of the remnants of my dance days is my persistent, if often unhelpful, desire to focus on having perfect technique.

What mattered most though, was that I was leaving behind the drama and setbacks of the past few months. February is the month of momentum.

We got the big Mo!

I walked into the gym and the computer system was down.  No worries, I signed in on a piece of paper, grabbed my towel and headed to the locker room.  I stripped down to my swimsuit and a girl who I see swimming there a lot said “wait, there’s no heat in the pool.”

ain't go the bit mo yet

What?  “There’s no heat in the pool.” She asked if I could go talk to somebody so I put my skirt and sweater back on and headed out to talk to the guy at the front desk. It turns out that the same system that controls the check-in also controls the heating of the pool. It’s cold, they know, there’s nothing that they can do. He told me it’s “safe to swim, just no fun.”

Not today triathlon Satan, not today.  I don’t care if it qualifies as a polar bear plunge, I am leaving January behind and February is my month of momentum, this swim is fucking happening.

I get in and they weren’t kidding, it’s cold.  (I did used to swim in runoff from melted mountain snow as a kid so I understand how ridiculous this is, but that was a million years ago and this water is cold to me.)

The swim itself went fine.  They say “if you’re cold, swim faster” and my times were actually a tiny bit better than last week so maybe that worked, or maybe it was just the big Mo!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Quick Dip In A Cool Pool

  1. Jana says:

    You go girl!! Grab that MO!

    You create MOtivation for me on this side of the earth 🙂

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    I *HATE* cold pools. I’ll get under a blanket for you. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

