A Tale of Two Videos – Inspiration Friday

Celebrate the JourneyI’m a sucker for an inspirational video.  Sometimes when I have some downtime I just watch all kinds of inspirational YouTube videos about all kinds of sports.

A week or so ago this video started showing up repeatedly all over my Social Media   It’s an ad by Under Armour (a company that makes lots of clothing that I’d like to wear, but almost nothing in my size, but that’s another post) about Michael Phelps and his road to compete in the Olympics in Rio.

I find it hauntingly beautiful – as someone who does most of my workouts by myself, I can’t even imagine the amount of time that he spends with nothing to push him but his own will – and quite inspiring:

 

Then another video, a response to the Michael Phelps ad, found its way onto my Facebook wall several times and I found it inspiring and hilarious. Hilarious as in,  I actually spit water out of my nose at 1:57. (Also, CUTE PUG ALERT! Just saying.)

 

One of the major reasons I took on this IRONMAN goal was to see what lessons there were to learn about struggling at something that I’m just not good at.  And I think so far one of the most valuable lessons is that I have to celebrate my journey, and be inspired by the journey of others without comparing myself with others.  The fact that there are people who are faster, or farther along on this journey shouldn’t make me feel worse about myself, and the fact that there are people slower than I am, or less far along shouldn’t make me feel better about myself because their journeys have absolutely nothing to do with mine.

It’s ok to feel the whole range of emotions, it’s ok to yell at my watch, it’s ok to find humor – even dark humor, it’s ok to be exactly where I am and to celebrate that.  This process is almost entirely journey and very little destination, so it would be a huge waste wishing that my journey were something else, and missing out on what it is.

So, just as a little bonus, my very favorite inspirational video:

 

If you have favorite inspirational videos, as always feel free to drop links in the comments!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tale of Two Videos – Inspiration Friday

  1. lsstrout says:

    Those are great videos!

    Like

  2. Moniqa Aylin says:

    I’ve been enjoying this one from also from Under Armour: https://youtu.be/CDM1FPFxbVk

    Like

Leave a Reply

