Late Night Beginners – Inspiration Friday

A picture of trees growing in the sand, with a slightly cloudy blue sky. The text says "You can learn new things at any time in your life if you're willing to be a beginner. If you actually learn to like being a beginner, the whole world opens up to you. - Barbara Sher www.verybestquotes.comI often work out late at night.  It works best with my schedule, it mimics the conditions that I’ll have for the run at my IRONMAN, and it helps me avoid the sun which cuts down on the constant burn/peel cycles that keep my dermatologist up at night. One of the best things about working out late at night near the beach is the late night beginners.

These are the people who bring their skateboards, roller blades, roller skates, and hover boards to the beach, and learn how to use them at one o’clock in the morning.

Because I ride a looped course, I often get the privilege of seeing people trying one of these things for the very first time, then a couple more times as they progress, and then a few hours later when they’ve got themselves going and gained some skill and confidence (and generally look less terrified and at least a little more like they are having fun.)

I rarely initiate a conversation with any of them because I don’t know that my comments would be welcome, and I know that they aren’t out there to be my inspiration. So even though it feels like we may be kindred spirits, I keep my thoughts to myself so as not to be an asshole.

What I do know is that less than a year ago, I couldn’t stop my bike without falling down, and I was scared of everything from tiny puddles to textured pavement. I remember the fear of wrecking the bike, the fear of hurting myself miles from my car, and the fear of being mocked.  All of those things have happened, some more than once, and I now know that the actual experiences weren’t nearly as bad as the fear of them.

I once heard someone say (and I wish I could remember who) that fear and worry are worse than the worst thing that can actually happen, because fear and worry are an abyss – a hole with no bottom. It’s that abyss that the late night beginners have found a way to be brave enough to cross, and that is super inspiring to me.

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

Check out my sponsor!  More of Me to Love (a company that sells stuff – from practical to inspirational – for people who are fat and people of all sizes who are involved in Size Acceptance, Body Positivity, and Health at Every Size,) have always been super supportive of my work, and now they’ve created a group of awesome products, a portion of the profits from which will help fund my IRONMAN journey – you can check it out here (it’s worth it just to see the awesome fat triathlete logo they created!) Thanks MOMTL!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Late Night Beginners – Inspiration Friday

  1. lsstrout says:

    This is a super-neat and important post!

    Like

  2. “Nothing is to be feared, it is only to be understood.” Marie Curie

    Like

Leave a Reply

