Five Stages of Doing A Workout I Don’t Want To Do

Training for an IRONMAN requires a ridiculous number of workouts. Sometimes I bound out the door excited to do the workout. Other times…not so much. Here are the stages of me getting out the door to do the workouts in the latter category (starring Biscuit, ChadShannel Royale, Tank, Melody, and Bu.)

Denial 

Biscuit in a BlanketI’m going to go back and read the notes from Steve (my coach) again, maybe I missed something. There’s no way I actually have to do all this.

(Sometimes, when I open my coach’s notes at the beginning of the week and see how many workouts I have to do, and the duration of them, I just start laughing wildly.)

 

Anger

IMG_1996WHY THE FUCK DO I HAVE A LEG STRENGTH WORKOUT AFTER MY LONG RUN?  Did I piss off Steve? Am I being punished? Wait, this isn’t Steve’s fault. WHY THE FUCK DID I DECIDE TO TO THIS?


A
A
Bargaining

Tank is concernedIf I don’t do this today, I could do add it to tomorrow’s workouts. Swimming, running, strength, pilates, and biking in one day isn’t too much, right? How many showers can I take in one day? Actually, biking isn’t that important is it – it’s only 112 of the 140.6 miles. Maybe I could do half of it and then tell Steve that dingoes ate my bike.

Depression

IMG_1278I could watch The Fellowship of the Rings, the director’s cut, with bonus special features, in less time than it will take me to finish this workout. Why?  WHY? WHYYYYYYYYY?

 

a
Acceptance

BuddhaI decided to do this, I want to cross the finish line, I’m doing this workout, Let’s go.

 

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

Check out my sponsor!  More of Me to Love (a company that sells stuff – from practical to inspirational – for people who are fat and people of all sizes who are involved in Size Acceptance, Body Positivity, and Health at Every Size,) have always been super supportive of my work, and now they’ve created a group of awesome products, a portion of the profits from which will help fund my IRONMAN journey – you can check it out here (it’s worth it just to see the awesome fat triathlete logo they created!) Thanks MOMTL!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Stages of Doing A Workout I Don’t Want To Do

  1. DennyTriMoney says:

    Lol I’m rolling at the picture of the pup under the blanket. My wife and I have minature schnauzers that go everywhere with is and that looks like Millie when it comes time to get up. Her brother will be bouncing off the walls and she’s like a teenager that needs to sleep another hour.

    Like

  2. teamenvision says:

    So true – getting out the door is often the hardest part. Love the photos!

    Like

  3. lsstrout says:

    Your dogs are frickin’ adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

