Oh What A Beautiful Morning? 96 Days to Go

I’ve done most of my workouts for this IM at night.  There are lots of reasons for this – it avoids the sun (I’m prone to blistering sunburn even with sunscreen,) it’s cooler, and I’m a natural night owl so I do my best workouts at night.

But we’ve reached the time in my training when I need to be working out in the mornings to get used to waking up and working out early, and to get used to biking in the sun (which I’ll be doing a lot of since I’ll basically be biking all damn day.)

So I woke up at 6am yesterday and stumbled through my routine to get ready for my long bike ride (the fact that I’ve developed a technique to make sure that I get the aquaphor on all of my lady bits regardless of how tired I am is both comforting and disturbing.)  I am really, really not a morning person, and I had not slept well as I was tossing and turning thinking about the bike ride I had to do.

Let’s start with the bad news.  I was really slow.  Slower than I normally am, slower than I was before I got sick, slower than I’ve been when I was doing these rides early in the sun earlier this year, slower than I was last week. Far slower than I need to be to get through the IM. Slow. I’m not sure why.  I didn’t even feel particularly tired after I got done, I just felt like I didn’t have any energy or strength during the ride, and while my speed was low my heart rate was pretty high.  Maybe it was lack of sleep, or working out in the sun, or I need different nutrition/hydration, or maybe it was just a bad day.

Now the good things:

Last week was my first long bike ride after missing a bunch of workouts while I was sick.  It was really painful, everything hurt! This week, felt much better.

I didn’t quit. Doing these workouts is difficult enough but when I am consistently way behind the times I expect (and need) they can be frustrating and depressing and the urge to quit can become overwhelming.  I desperately wanted to quit less than a third of the way through the ride but I just kept pushing and I finished it out and I’m proud of that. All I can do is keep working!

What’s inspiring me today:

Julianne and I were watching an incredibly cheesy television show about gymnastics and this song came on.  As usual, my cheesy inspirational music game is strong and I want to share that with y’all:

THE FAT ACTIVISM CONFERENCE:
TOOLS FOR THE REVOLUTION! 

This year we have a kick ass line up of speakers including some super cool fathletes and other speakers talking about everything from Re-Imagining Fashion from an Inclusive Framework” to “Activism for the Introverted and Anxious” to “Building Fat Patient Power While Accessing Healthcare” and moreThis is a virtual conference so you can listen by phone or computer wherever you are, and you’ll receive recordings and transcripts of each talk so that you can listen/read on your own schedule.  We also offer a pay what you can afford option to make the conference accessible to everyone. The Conference will be held September 23-25, 2016

Click Here to Register!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

Check out my sponsor!  More of Me to Love (a company that sells stuff – from practical to inspirational – for people who are fat and people of all sizes who are involved in Size Acceptance, Body Positivity, and Health at Every Size,) have always been super supportive of my work, and now they’ve created a group of awesome products, a portion of the profits from which will help fund my IRONMAN journey – you can check it out here (it’s worth it just to see the awesome fat triathlete logo they created!) Thanks MOMTL!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh What A Beautiful Morning? 96 Days to Go

  1. Feeling tired on that long ride in the morning could totally be attributed to any one of those variables you mentioned — plus, the fact that you’re not a morning person and this was your first long ride in early morning. That’s amazing you did it without quitting, regardless of speed; good on you! You’ll figure out your “new” morning routine. I’m on the tail end (I hope) of a brutal chest infection, so any activity I do involves lots of coughing, hacking and spitting (which is gross, but necessary) and I have to settle for being a lot slower than I am when my breathing is not compromised.

    Onward!!

    Like

  2. Oh! I forgot to mention – I just downloaded Sia’s “Unstoppable” as my new favourite go-to psych-up song. They’ve been playing it on CBC’s broadcast of the Olympics and now it’s in my head. I highly recommend it for your playlist!

    Like

  3. lsstrout says:

    Hooray for persistence!

    Like

Leave a Reply

