Swim 6, 7, 8 – 95 Days to Go

Yesterday was long swim day.  It wasn’t as crowded as it’s been, so that was nice.  One of the benefits of living here is easy access to the ocean but during the summer it gets super crowded and “swimming” can take on different meanings like “dodging a couple making out in a floatie” and “swimming around those kids who aren’t paying any attention to what’s around them,” and dodging Paddleboard Class of Tuesday as they take to the open sea for the first time.

Today it was much easier to navigate, just a couple other triathlete types doing the swim out and back by the buoys.  It’s helpful because I can know the distance I’ve swum pretty exactly (the feature on my watch leaves a lot to be desired) but it also means a pretty boring swim.

As usual, I asked my brain for something to pass the time.  Unfortunately Julianne and I are going through Buffy the Vampire Slayer again and we’re in the first season so my brain decided on the cheer from episode three.  Sadly, Joss phoned it in on this one so the cheer just goes:

Go Sunnydale Go
Go Sunnydale Go
Go Sunnydale Go
6, 7, 8

Yes, they actually say “6,7,8” I told you that he phoned it in. That got old quick so I tried to suggest something – anything – else.  Every earworm song I could think of, poems, inspiration quotes, whatever. But my brain would not be deterred. So it was Go Sunnydale Go all the way.

I went farther, faster than last week and based on my times I’m in good shape to make the cut-off at the IM. But I take nothing for granted since I know how quickly that can go wrong. More than that, if I want to have any hope of finishing the whole thing,  I can’t just finish the swim in time, I need to finish with time to spare (because I’ll need the extra time during the run.) There’s plenty of speed to be had, so I’m continuing to work on technique, trying different stroke rates to find my sweet spot, and just swimming… 6, 7, 8.

What’s inspiring me today:

These pictures of the evolution of artist’s drawings always reminds me that the improvement will come if I just keep doing the work:

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/artist-before-and-after-drawing-practice

THE FAT ACTIVISM CONFERENCE:
TOOLS FOR THE REVOLUTION! 

This year we have a kick ass line up of speakers including some super cool fathletes and other speakers talking about everything from Re-Imagining Fashion from an Inclusive Framework” to “Activism for the Introverted and Anxious” to “Building Fat Patient Power While Accessing Healthcare” and moreThis is a virtual conference so you can listen by phone or computer wherever you are, and you’ll receive recordings and transcripts of each talk so that you can listen/read on your own schedule.  We also offer a pay what you can afford option to make the conference accessible to everyone. The Conference will be held September 23-25, 2016

Click Here to Register!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

Check out my sponsor!  More of Me to Love (a company that sells stuff – from practical to inspirational – for people who are fat and people of all sizes who are involved in Size Acceptance, Body Positivity, and Health at Every Size,) have always been super supportive of my work, and now they’ve created a group of awesome products, a portion of the profits from which will help fund my IRONMAN journey – you can check it out here (it’s worth it just to see the awesome fat triathlete logo they created!) Thanks MOMTL!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swim 6, 7, 8 – 95 Days to Go

  1. lsstrout says:

    One of my actual high school cheers was:
    Maroon and white
    Fight fight!
    Maroon and white
    Fight fight!

    Who fights?
    We fight!
    Maroon and white
    Fight fight!

    Like

  2. fasterfastest says:

    This is hilarious to me because my partner and I are currently re-watching Buffy as well and she has recently starting chanting that cheer to me whenever we start a workout together, 6,7,8! Come on, Joss…

    Way to make it through the swim even with that running in circles in your head!

    Like

  3. Gem says:

    baby shark (don’t youtube it, but if you do the pink fong version’ was in my head alll half ironman.

    Baby shark
    dooo doooo doooby doo
    Baby shark
    doo doooo dooooby doo
    Baby shark
    dooo doooo doooby doo
    Baby shark
    doo doooo dooooby doo

    All the way to the finish.

    Thanks brain

    Like

Leave a Reply

