Blisterpocalypse 2016 – 92 Days to Go

If you run you are a runnerToday was long run day.  Things went fine for the first couple of miles, then I started to get a blister which is super weird because it usually takes way more miles to get into blister territory.  Then I started to get a friction burn under my sports bra, the same exact sports bra I wear for every long run which never chafes at all, which is why I freaking wear it for the long runs.  WTF?  It made the run interminable.  It also reminded me that I never shared the pictures from blisterpocalypse 2016.and I really want to document it for posterity.  Warning, gross feet pictures ahead:

 

 

 

THE FAT ACTIVISM CONFERENCE:
TOOLS FOR THE REVOLUTION! 

This year we have a kick ass line up of speakers including some super cool fathletes and other speakers talking about everything from Re-Imagining Fashion from an Inclusive Framework” to “Activism for the Introverted and Anxious” to “Building Fat Patient Power While Accessing Healthcare” and moreThis is a virtual conference so you can listen by phone or computer wherever you are, and you’ll receive recordings and transcripts of each talk so that you can listen/read on your own schedule.  We also offer a pay what you can afford option to make the conference accessible to everyone. The Conference will be held September 23-25, 2016

Click Here to Register!

Like this blog?  Here’s more cool stuff!

Check out my sponsor!  More of Me to Love (a company that sells stuff – from practical to inspirational – for people who are fat and people of all sizes who are involved in Size Acceptance, Body Positivity, and Health at Every Size,) have always been super supportive of my work, and now they’ve created a group of awesome products, a portion of the profits from which will help fund my IRONMAN journey – you can check it out here (it’s worth it just to see the awesome fat triathlete logo they created!) Thanks MOMTL!

IRONMAN Sale:  I’m having an ongoing sale on my books,  DVDs and downloads to help pay for my IM – you get books and dance classes, I get spandex clothes and bike parts. Everybody wins! To check it out, you can go to https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/support-my-ironman/ No money?  No problem!  If you feel like it, you can leave a comment or send me an e-mail (ragen@ironfat.com) saying something encouraging, that’s incredibly helpful as well!

If you have questions about my IRONMAN journey  the FAQ might help!

If you’re looking for a place to talk about fitness from a weight neutral perspective, check out the Fit Fatties Forum. and the Fit Fatties Facebook page.

Book Me!  I’m a professional speaker and I’d love to speak to your organization. You can get more information on topics, previous engagements and reviews here or just e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org!

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Blisterpocalypse 2016 – 92 Days to Go

  1. Steph Dee says:

    Oh Ragen, you inspire me so much to get out there and do my exercisin’ even when I worry that everyone is staring at (fat) me. You do more good than you know! Love from Canada ❤ ❤

    Like

  2. When I was training for a marathon one time I remember thinking on mile 18 or so of a 25 mile run that my sock was rubbing a little bit. I thought, “Ah, I’ll fix that when I get home.” When I got home, my whole sock was soaked in blood…the delights of endurance sports!

    Like

  3. Penny Wilkin says:

    Wow those blisters are quite something!!! U must have special skin to suffer like that! But if you can deal with those I’m sure you can deal with an Ironman!

    Like

  4. gsantollo says:

    I just got hoka one one Clifton 3s I love them!!! Check them out

    Like

  5. gsantollo says:

    Congrats on the long run, though! I am on strava if you would like to follow me my account is private so just request and I will approve. I’m thinking about going to AZ to volunteer this year

    Like

  6. lsstrout says:

    Bra chafing? UGH!

    Like

  7. elizaanne189 says:

    While I was watching the Olympic triathlon events thought of you and your commitment to this effort. I am in awe of your dedication, perseverance, and hard work.

    Like

  8. Susan says:

    After reading your previous post about blisterpocalypse, I ended up using the threading technique when I got a killer blister right before our trip to New Orleans! Had a miserable day of walking through airports on that sucker, threaded it overnight once we got to our B&B, and by the next morning it was drained to the point I could dress it lightly with no pain or reblistering despite all the walking I did while in NOLA. Thank you, most sincerely, for sharing that tip!! Rooting for you; keep up the great work with your training!

    Like

  9. I like using body glide under all the edges of my sports bras on long runs. Might be worth a try!

    Like

    • It’s a great idea, I’ve been in the habit of using it on runs farther than a half marathon, but usually below that I don’t have any problems. I’ll be goo-ing up for all my runs from now on 🙂

      Like

  10. Hi Ragen, I know you haven’t posted in a little while, I imagine because you have a lot going on. I wanted to say that I hope the training is going well, and I look forward to hearing about it when you have time to blog again! Go get ’em!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

