Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 5

monday-recapThis week went ok. This was the last week focused on strength and swim.  I may regret saying this at some point (perhaps some point soon,) but right now I am anxious to get going on the cycling and running. It’s possible I regret saying it already…

12/26/16 – Swim

This went great, faster than last week!

12/27/16 – Strength Routine

I love strength workouts!

12/28/16 – Easy Run

We’ve been doing a swim and strength block, and then I decided that I wanted to do a 5k for the new year so this was just getting out and walk/running a bit. It went fine.

Pilates

I’ve tried lots of different methods for stretching after a run and I’ve found pilates (with a few extra resistance stretches with a band) is the best.

12/29/16 – Swimming Speed Work

This was kind of a shitty swim.  My speed was ok, but not great.  I’m not sure why but I was tired through the whole thing – the last few laps felt like swimming through glue.

Strength Work

Just call me squatzilla!

12/31/16 – 5k

I wrote all about this here. Short story – other than having to wake up at 4:30am (like, freaking seriously?)  it went really well.

Pilates

Stretched out and happy to be done with my workouts so early in the day.  If it didn’t mean getting up early, I could really get into this early morning workout thing!

1/1/16 – Long Swim

This was one of those swims that seemed to last a really long time. I was trying to sing songs in my head to get through it and that taught me how much I don’t know all the words to songs that I like and have listened to for a really long time.  If they come on the radio or my ipod I sing along like my car is a stage, but without the track I get kept getting stuck. In the end I did 10 minutes more than last week, keeping the same average speed.

Here are this week’s selfies (and also bonus selfies from the second half of my hike-cation!)

 

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 5

  1. lsstrout says:

    I hope that last pool wasn’t too cold!

    Like

Leave a Reply

