Dr. IronFat’s No Sing-Along Blog

youtube-pictureAt the suggestion of some blog readers, I decided to try video blogging this year.  This is my first try, it’s just a quick recap of where I’m at and how I got here.  This is kind of a beta test so if you’re not a fan of first attempts (of questionable quality,) it’s probably best to just read the transcript and wait for the next video. (BTW – There’s no singing along, because I cannot sing.)

In the future I will try to have better sound and lighting, to talk more slowly, and to say “so” far fewer times! But from these humble beginnings, perhaps a fabulous vlog will grow.  (If you’re not into video for whatever reason, or if you prefer to follow along with text, you can scroll down and find the transcript. )

You can click here to subscribe to my brand new IronFat Youtube channel (just click the red subscribe button and you’ll never miss a new vlog from me!)

Transcript:

Wow. So, this is my first vlog, very exciting. I was going to call it Dr. IronFat’s sing-a-long vlog, but apparently there was some kind of copyright issue, so nixed that idea.

But anyway, some of the IronFat blog readers had suggested to me that it might be cool to do some video blogging and I thought it sounded like fun, so here we are. The short story is that this is a two-year project that has turned into a three-year project. The idea was that I would complete IRONMAN Arizona in November of 2016 and then I would be done with this project, and get my IRONMAN tattoo and move on with my life. But as you can see it’s January 2017 and I am not wearing an IRONMAN tattoo, a tattoo that I may well get on my forehead if I finish this.

And so,  yeah, that’s where we are. I just wasn’t able to get fast enough to finish under the time cut off and so we decided to give it one more year.

They have this thing called “race insurance,” where you pay a little bit of money when you register and then if you can’t complete the race for certain reasons, you can get your registration fee back. Well, I didn’t buy that. The good thing is that being registered for IRONMAN Arizona 16, meant that I could go on site and pre-register for IRONMAN Arizona 17. And this is a big deal because sometimes these races sell out almost immediately when they go up online. And so the people have registered who are on site, the athletes of that year, the volunteers, get to register first and then they put it online.

Last year I wasn’t able to register in person because I was at a speaking gig and then I had a conference I was at and so I was really sweating it. Because if you don’t get registered there are other ways to do it, but it’s incredibly expensive and kind of a pain. And so this year I figured, for the price of a cheap Southwest ticket, to go round trip on the same day I would just go and do it in person. So, flew to Phoenix, got a cheap rental car, drove to Tempe. And I’ve got to tell you, if I didn’t know anything about Tempe I would think that the entire town was populated by people who don’t have jobs and who just ride around on expensive bikes in lots of spandex, all day long. Because the place was lousy with triathletes, they were everywhere. Riding the bike course, running around.

I drove the bike course again just to remind myself kind of what the course is like and yeah, it was tons of cyclists and then tons of cars with IRONMAN stickers driving the course. And the person in front of me had managed to merge an IRONMAN trailer pull, an IRONMAN branded like trailer hitch with those truck testicles, and it was like uncomfortable, but oddly compelling. So that was my view for the entire bike course. So I got done with the bike course and went to the park where everything is staged so that I could go ahead and get registered. Before you can register for next year you have to check in for the current year. So I actually had to go through check in like I was going to do the event. And the biggest difference was the safety briefing.

So, when I was at the Half IRONMAN a couple of years ago the safety briefing was like, I don’t know, 100 people sitting around and a guy kind of yelling us not to do dumb stuff. The thing that I most remember was he said that, “People will start the swim and then decide that they don’t want to do it and climb up out of the lake and go get pancakes with their family. And so then, the IRONMAN organization is calling them and their emergency contacts and everyone they can find, because they don’t want to have to drag the lake for this person’s body.” That was memorable. But at the full IRONMAN the safety briefing is like five people at a time, it’s like five minutes long and I lost count of the number of times that they said, “Should you find yourself unconscious in the medical tent, what would you prefer?”

After the safety briefing, got through check in and then went to register and everybody was again super nice, super positive, super cool, which I really appreciate. So I got myself registered, went right back to the airport and came home.

Thus begins my third year of training. The reason I think I wasn’t getting faster, more quickly, during last year’s training was that I think I was confusing misery for hard work. So, you know, a lot of my intervals would be, go as hard as you can. And I really, legitimately thought I was, but looking back I think I was just thinking, god, this sucks, good for me for getting through it. Which did not give me the results I wanted. So this year we’re doing more with heart rate training and, you know, using a pacer and a cadence thing which beeps in your ear the whole time, which, yeah, super fun. But, you know, I want this, I want to finish this, I want to finish this this year. I want to get my tattoo and I want to move on with my life. And so, and putting the hard work in is the only way to do that and so that’s what I’m doing.

That’s it for now, thanks for watching my first vlog. If I’ve done this right there’s a place on this video right now where you can click to subscribe so you don’t miss them. I’ll also be posting them to the IronFat blog. Thanks and talk to you later.

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dr. IronFat’s No Sing-Along Blog

  1. Denny says:

    I never got my facebook working so I don’t think I can subscribe on youtube. I’ll watch these videos on ironfat.com

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Woot for you! Good first vlog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

