Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 7

monday-recapStill dealing with my ankle sprain this week – it was a lot better but I didn’t get cleared to run until mid-week so I’ve got some catching up to do.

1/16/17 – Short Speed Swim

This went way better than last week (when my ankle hurt so badly each time I kicked that I simply stopped kicking with my left leg which led to an absolutely ridiculous swim stroke, though I somehow still hit my time goals.)  Today I beat my time goals on every interval.

1/18/17

Short Run – this was scheduled for yesterday but I wasn’t cleared to run until today and this afternoon I picked up my new running shoes, so this short run allowed me to break them in (it’s been quite the adventure getting the shoes, I’ll tell you all about it in my vlog later this week!) Ankle was pretty good, some pain if the ground was uneven but not bad and it didn’t swell up afterwards so yay!  New shoes are ok, may need to get a half size bigger but I want to try them some more.

Long Mixed Swim – this was like a kitchen sink swim, a whole bunch of different distances, drills, speeds, and intensities. I was tired and bored and wanted to quit pretty bad but I made it all the way through.

1/19/17 – Strength Workout

Nice to be doing a strength workout without having my foot in a bucket of ice water. (In honor of The Lady Chablis I feel the need to say “Two squats in a bucket…”

1/20/17 – Day Off

1/21/17 – Short Run

I had to get up after only a few hours of sleep to head to a family event.  We hung out with Julianne’s awesome grandma and grandad, and then her dad, mom, and sister joined us and our friends who are archery coaches at the archery range which was a blast.

We hung out and had a very late dinner and I was fighting sleep while driving home in the rain. When we got home around 1am I still had this run to do.  So before I could change my mind I threw on my clothes and headed out.  I didn’t get very far before I was reminded why running on a very full stomach is a terrible idea – complications arose, ensued, and were overcome. When I walked back out of my house for the second time it had started raining again. Perfect. It was slippery and my ankle was sore but I got it done.

1/22/17 – Brick (Bike and Run)

This was supposed to be my first ride on my bike with the new, shorter cranks.  Except it’s been raining for several days, parts of the path were flooded, and I’m a threat to wreck my bike under perfect conditions so I decided it wasn’t the best time to try out new equipment.

So I did the first half of this on my trainer (the thingy that you clip your bike into that makes it into a stationary bike) I kept it at or over 85rpms the whole time (counted correctly!)

I also tested out some new bike shorts.  I have yet to find triathlon shorts (shorts that are meant for you to swim, bike, and run in them) that are made in my size and work for me, and the bike shorts that I usually use have too much padding to run in without creating a pretty nasty chaffing situation.  In the IRONMAN it’s no problem because I can change clothes between events.  In shorter triathlons this is not encouraged so I’m trying to figure out if I’m going to use my undress to change in public, or find bike shorts with thin enough padding that I can run in them. It was super uncomfortable to run in these so I don’t think they are the solution I’m looking for.

I completed the run, I pushed my ankle a bit and it was pretty sore toward the end, but it didn’t swell, so at this point it seems to be just pain and not doing more damage, which is good since I need every second of training that I can get!

Here are this week’s selfies (missing the strength picture because I completely forgot.)

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 7

  1. Susan Lowney says:

    You rock. Most would have given up. You make me proud. I’m stretched doing a Sprint distance.

    Like

  2. standgale says:

    Great job! It sounds like a tough week. I’m very impressed with the dedication going for that run at 1am after a long day.

    Like

  3. Denny says:

    Great job Ragen. My wife and I got to go to the Women’s March in downtown and I was thinking that we might run into you and your lovely partner. I didn’t realize that it was going to be so huge and I was so inspired. We had planned on doing the entire March from Pershing square to city hall but we never even got past 6th and Spring it was so packed with amazing people! My wife was in her power scooter because we knew the walk might be a bit long and people were so nice and friendly and helped clear a path and made sure that her sign was visible for all to see! Such an amazing experience. Thank you for your inspiration to become activists! Hope you had a great time Saturday!

    Like

  4. lsstrout says:

    Glad your ankle is on the mend! Bummer about the shorts.

    Like

  5. Rebecca B says:

    I hear your pain on finding appropriate triathlon clothes. After watching the British Sewing Bee I was thinking maybe I could learn to sew my own – I haven’t yet been brave enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

