Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 9

monday-recap-3001/30/17 

Short Walk/Run

This went fine, I did even more running than last time and my ankle was absolutely solid, so I think that particular nightmare is over. (Shout out to Julie, my physical therapist!)

1/31/17

Bike – Intervals on the Trainer

This went really well.  I was able to keep the same cadence for more intervals in a harder gear than last week. Progress!

Strength

My legs were exhausted from the intervals so this was a particularly challenging squat-fest.

2/1/17

Short Walk/Run

This run felt good, I increased the running even more and went a decent amount farther than Monday. Ankle still happy.

Swim – Sprints

I got very little sleep and used up my second wind on the run. I was hoping for a third wind but it never happened,  so even though this is one of my shorter swims it still seemed to drag on forever.  Certainly not my fastest time either, but I got it done.

Interestingly in the middle of my swim two folks came in wearing competitive swimsuits, goggles, and hats.  They jumped in, did 5 or 6 of the fastest laps I’ve ever seen in person,then they jumped out and were gone.  I was in the middle of the three lanes and so they took the lanes on each side – it felt like I was standing swimming still as they zipped past – they were super impressive.

2/2/17

Bike – Cadence Work

Spent the day in the hospital with a friend, had to do some serious self-talk to get myself out of the house and on this ride.  I focused on my cadence.  Luckily I’m able to maintain a cadence of around 80-85 if I focus on it, but left to my own devices I would prefer a slower cadence in a harder gear.  The problem with that is that it’s inefficient over the long haul, so it’s important that I get used to keeping my cadence up.  I hit my cadence goals but was slower than I wanted to be – I’ve got to work myself up to a harder gear at this cadence to get the speed I want.

Strength

Another day, another zillion squats.

2/3/17

A day off by any other name would still be as glorious!

2/4/17

Long Run

This did not go well. I was planning to run in the morning and have a massage in the afternoon.  I wasn’t able to get the run in (totally worth it, one of Julianne’s Grandmas came to our house to visit) So I had my massage in the afternoon and then ran at night.  I don’t know if this happens to other people but if I don’t give a massage around 24 hours before I try to run I just end up in all kinds of pain and that’s exactly what happened.

2/5/17

Bike – Trainer

My stomach was upset all day so I decided to do this on the trainer due to its constant proximity to the restroom. In some ways the trainer is better – there’s climate control and television and the aforementioned bathroom.  In other ways it’s not as fun because you work really hard and don’t go anywhere and I’m actually quite a bit more comfortable riding on the trail than riding on the trainer.  Got it done though!

Here are this week’s selfies (missing one strength workout – why can I not remember the strength selfie?)

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 9

  1. Denny says:

    I’m not sure if you ever get inland towards Pomona/Ontario area but I have the most amazing massage therapist there. She did wonders me when I was more active and she has done wonders for my wife’s neck and back problems. I would be happy to pass on her for you.

    Like

  2. Angela Davie says:

    Well done Ragen! Looks like a solid week of training. Glad the ankle seems to be healing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

