Road to Arizona 2017 – Recap 10

monday-recap-3002/6/17

Short Run

I got to the beach late and it was foggy and misty which made everything both eerie and beautiful. I tried to take some pictures for y’all before I got started but my phone’s camera wouldn’t do it justice. It was cold and kind of rainy – halfway between a really dense fog and a drizzle for most of the workout.

As soon as I started my walk to warm up at the beginning my right calf started cramping.  I thought that it would  work itself out so I kept going.  It didn’t. I stopped.  I stretched.  I sat down on a cold wet bench to try to take the pressure off. Then it was time to start the run intervals.  It went from painful to excruciating.  I stopped a couple more times to try to stretch it out, but it just wouldn’t budge.  So, with about 30 minutes left I decided just to push to the end, it was about that time that the wind and the rain kicked up. I ugly cried the whole last 20 minutes but I pushed on the runs and I finished the workout.

2/7/17

Bike Intervals – Trainer

Went really well, again – more intervals than last week, same cadence, harder gear. Boom.

2/8/17

Short Run

In contrast to Monday’s run when I barely saw a soul, this night was filled with strange interactions. As I was standing on the side of the path pulling up the workout on my Garmin, a group came up and one of the guys yelled “HEY!” and then held up his hand for a high five. I high-fived him and then he started screaming “THAT WAS SO FUCKING GREAT, LET’S DO IT AGAIN!”  He explained that this time we would high five them pull our fists down in a “yes!” motion.  So we did and he yelled “THAT WAS FUCKING GREAT! THANK YOU”  His friends said “Sorry, he’s done this to everyone he’s seen.”

Then five minutes later a guy who I’m going to go out on a limb and say was super high stopped me because he couldn’t remember where he parked his car.  I described each one of the many parking lots on the trail and after saying “Dude, whoa you really know this place” we determined that he had passed the parking lot about a mile before. I asked him not to drive and offered to order him a Lyft. He thanked me and said that he was going to sleep in the car, not drive it, and skateboarded off into the distance.

Then I ran into a group of skateboarders and they kept saying that they would stay with me because it’s “dangerous out here.”  Without slowing down or stopping I told them the same thing that I tell everyone, that I can take care of myself.  They would go away for a while and then come back and offer to “keep me company.”  I kept saying no thank you and they eventually went away and didn’t come back.

Still dealing with the cramping issue with my right calf, but at least it wasn’t cold and raining.  This went ok. Not great, but ok. When I got to the end of the run the skateboarding dudes were all in the parking lot gathered around the car next to mine drinking.  So I got in and took my selfie from inside the car.

2/9/17

Swim Lesson

This was great. My swim coach noticed a mistake I was making on every recovery motion (taking my arm in more of a rainbow rather than leading with my elbow) that is a quick fix that gives me more speed and more ease so yay!

Long Intervals on the Trainer

This is a new workout this week – much longer intervals than on Tuesday.  Coach asks for Tuesdays to be “eye-bulging” effort and today’s intervals to be “Hard AF” This went really well, the bike is where I think I have the most potential to improve so it’s good to

Strength

Squat-tastic

2/10/17

Planned Day Off

2/11/17

Unplanned Day Off – my long run was supposed to be today but I felt like 100% crap so I decided to push the run to tomorrow.

2/12/17

Long Run

I was excited to try the new calf compression sleeves that my physical therapist recommended, but I was just a little ways into the run with miles to go, and it was the worst it has been.  I sat down on a bench to try to stretch it out, and that’s when I got completely overwhelmed and I literally almost quit the IRONMAN altogether.  I’ll talk more about it in the VLOG this week, but the end of the story is that I got up off the bench and finished the run.

Bike Ride

My original Sunday workout was a a bike ride. When I pushed the long run I figured I would skip the bike. I got home from the run, had my post-run protein and stretched.  I decided that I didn’t want to blow off the bike ride, but it was really late so I decided to do it on the trainer.  I’m glad I did it – I finished feeling at least a little better about the day.

Here are this week’s selfies:

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Road to Arizona 2017 – Recap 10

  1. gsantollo says:

    Do you use Strava or garmin connect follow me

    Like

  2. dvoid03 says:

    Oh, man. Please post about it if you find a solution to the calf cramps. I get them super easy due to thyroid problems, and I’ve tried everything: stretching, drinking more water, drinking water with quinine, drinking pickle juice (for the electrolytes, I think?), rolling it on a tennis ball. Nothing has really helped so far.

    Like

  3. Lori Wiesner says:

    Oh Ragen, I just wanted to hug you when I saw how sad and pained you looked in a couple of the pics. You’re doing amazingly well, and whatever you decide to do, know that you have a whole squad behind you cheering you on!

    Like

  4. Denny says:

    I’m sure the person above means well but be very caution who you add on Strava or Garmin connect. If you don’t have your settings perfect they can see exactly where you work out and when. I’m sure you knew this already but I think reminders are always a good thing especially when it comes to safety. My daughter’s wife had a very awkward interaction because someone recognized her from garmin connect in a grocery store. It was one of those things that made her feel like it was more than just a coincidence he was there at the same time she was.

    Like

  5. lsstrout says:

    Sounds like a weird and tough week. Hooray for the swim improvement and for pushing through the tough parts. I seriously hope you find an answer to the cramping.

    Like

  6. Rebecca B says:

    You are always so impressive with your determination. Do you get regular remedial massages? Might help with the tight calves. It definitely improves my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

