Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 14

monday-recap-3003/6/17

Run

We tried adding a spin before this run to see if it would fix the cramps.  No dice. Still, this run went pretty ok.

3/7/17 

Bike – Short Intervals

This went really well, I maxed out my gears last week so this week I focused on pedaling faster. I had to ask my coach how to make these more difficult moving forward, that was a difficult note to write.

3/8/17

Run

I felt like crap at the beginning and realized why when this run got cut short because of a sudden, dramatic, unexpected onset of proof from my uterus that I am not pregnant, for which I was totally unprepared.  Ugh, I’m not even using this thing, and it’s fucking up my run.

3/9/17

Bike – Long Intervals

These felt pretty good – the long intervals were even longer than last week and I did them all one gear harder.

Swim – Speed Work

There was a slow down as I incorporated the new technical stuff into my stroke but as of this swim I seem to be back up to my previous speed. Yay!

3/10/17

Long Run

I think this might have been kind of a breakthrough run for me.  It went really well.  I’m going to do my video blog about it this week. I challenged myself to run far more than I have in any workout before (I always do run/walk intervals so I altered the workout to do more running and less walking.)  I ran far more even than I ran last week and, truth be told, far more than I was certain I could actually run when I started.  And I did it! It reminded me that I need to continuously re-examine what I think are my limitations, and I need to keep pushing.  I was absolutely destroyed at the end of this run, but as I used my arms to pull my left leg into the car, I was also genuinely happy to remember that I can do more than I think I can.

You may notice that my workouts were compressed this week, that would be because Julianne took me on a little overnight vacation – she told me we were going but didn’t tell me where to or what we were doing.  It turns out we went to San Diego to see the musical Kinky Boots – totally worth doing all of my workouts in a row!

Here come the selfies:

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 14

  1. Denny says:

    That light fixtures looks like the one at the Portland opera house. Is that where you were?

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Sucks about the cramps, but woo-hoo! for everything else going well. Double woo-hoo for getting to see Kinky Boots. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

