Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 15

monday-recap-3003/13/17

Mid-Distance Run

This run got longer again this week.  But, to my great delight, I no longer have to (try to) hit the run interval time exactly, I just have to be at, or faster than, the prescribed time.  This seemed like way less of a pain in the ass than trying to hit the pace dead on. And it was.  I did my 10 minute warmup, stretched and took off.  Fought through calf cramps for the first 30 minutes, then it finally loosened up. I was running as fast as I could, holding paces that I couldn’t even approach at this time last year.  I was gassed at the end of each run interval, which made it harder to keep the prescribed walking pace but I did a pretty good job – 30 seconds per mile faster than the last time I did this run, with an extra .75 miles.

3/14/17

Bike – Short Intervals

I did this ride, took a shower, cooked and ate dinner, and I was still on an endorphin high. This workout has traditionally been sets of short, super high-intensity intervals (variously described by my coach as “hard AF” “eye bulging” and “you should hate me during these”). In between the intervals I do rest sets at a target heart rate.  For today’s workout he took away a bunch of my rest and made some of the intervals twice as long. It kicked my ass and it was glorious.  At the end of my final interval I was breathing so hard that even my asshole dog (who usually just looks super annoyed that I’m making noise) looked concerned. This is the kind of workout that I prefer – and I’ll miss this when all the workouts get longer.

3/15/17

Bike – Long Intervals

I woke up with a pounding headache and a pretty bad stomach ache.  I waited all day for it to get better but it didn’t. I was scheduled to run but I didn’t feel like that was going to work out so I decided to do these intervals on the trainer instead and run tomorrow. The long intervals get longer every week and this week I was tired and it felt like each interval was roughly a million years long. I did not improve my headache or stomach ache, but I finished.

3/16/17

Woke up with an even worse headache and stomach ache. Went to physical therapy and they decided to try something different.  One of the PTs who is a really big, strong dude said “We’re going to try something different, and it’s going to be unpleasant.”  He pulled out this steel tool and proceeded to scrape my calf muscles with it.  The idea, he explained was to eliminate knots and fascia adhesions.  It felt weird and it sounded…crunchy. Unfortunately I didn’t get to test it because, along with the headache and stomach ache, trying to run made me dizzy so I ended up with an unplanned day off.

3/17/17

Planned day off

3/18/17

Long Run

Felt a little better, but not great. Still, I felt like I needed to get this long run in.  It was a difficult run, I felt sick the whole time, I wasn’t able to take in any nutrition but I was able to push through and I finished, even did it 14 seconds per mile faster than last week with an additional mile, and I felt really good because I fought for this run.  In other good news my calves felt really good – there was almost no cramping.  I will endure that scraping each and every day if it means that I can run without constant calf cramps! I wasn’t able to get the video blog about last week’s run finished in time, so this week with any luck at all you’ll get a vlog about last week’s long run and this week’s long run.

3/19/17

Long Bike

This is mainly a recovery ride, he added extra time this week. Still not feeling great but I got through it.

So this was a short but mighty week. Here are the selfies:

 

 

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Road to Arizona 2017 – Monday Recap 15

  1. The technique your PT used is called Graston. By vigarously manipulating the stuck fascia, he broke up adhesions that possibly were causing your cramping. Works really well when done properly. Nice that you found some relief!

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Woot for what seems to be a cramp solution! Boo for the headache and stomache ache. I hope it has ceased.

    Like

  3. Thalia says:

    I hope the cramp solution turns out to be the magic bullet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

