Road to Arizona 2017: Monday Recap 16

Ok, so this is now the Tuesday, no wait, it just passed into Wednesday, recap. But a recap nonetheless…

3/20/17 

Bike – Short Intervals

My coach took away more of the rest and doubled the intervals at the beginning.  This workout continues to kick my ass and I continue to love the hell out of this workout.

3/21/17

Mid-Distance Run

This run went ok, not as fast as I wanted to go but I got it done.

3/22/17

Bike – Long Intervals

These intervals are getting looooooong and maybe a bigger challenge than going that hard for that long physically is the mental challenge of keeping the focus.  It’s easy to get distracted or let my mind wander and find out that I’ve slowed down a bit, vs looking at the watch every two seconds which keeps me focused but makes each interval seem three hours long.

3/23/17

Swim – Sprint

Sprints are less boring than long swims in the pool, but I’m still pretty excited about getting back into open water.

Mid-Distance Run

SO FUCKING FRUSTRATING.  The calf cramping was back, but this time it was accompanied by a really sharp, really intense pain in my right achilles.  I was afraid that I was going actually create an injury that would require a break in training so I ended it early.

3/24/17

Day Off

3/25/17

Long Run

I knew that I had two disastrous runs this week.  I wanted this run to go well.  I fueled carefully during the day, I got extra sleep, I made sure I was hydrated.  I set time goals for my run/walk intervals that would make me 12 seconds per mile faster than last week. I started off and my body felt really good.  My calves cramped at the beginning, but after about 30 minutes they finally let go. I checked my time and I was averaging  24 seconds per mile faster than last week.   know it may not  seem like a lot but for me it is – I’m pushing as hard as I can on these long runs and everyone is longer than the one before so any increase in speed is a positive thing.  I figured it wouldn’t hold, but was nice while it lasted, and moved back to my main watch screen to focus on my goal times… or maybe just a little faster?

In good news, I’ve found a food that I can tolerate while running (if you’ve been following for a while you know that gels, chews, and even sports drinks often upset my stomach.)  It turns out that salted roasted sweet potatoes work.  That’s kind of good news, but in bad news eating enough sweet potatoes to get the calories I would need would cause…other problems, so the search for additional nutrition continues.

Still I was eating bits of sweet potato, drinking water, and feeling great until I had about three miles left and then the wheels came off.  Pain cave. And my calf cramps came back.  Damn it. I tried to ignore the pain and instead hyper focus on the pace of each interval.

With about two miles left I stopped to stretch and quickly checked my pace.  I was still holding at 24 seconds per mile faster than last week. Holy shit! I told myself that I could do this – all I had to do was hold on to this pace for two miles.  Two miles is nothing, I lied to myself. I took off for my next run interval and a pain shot through the little toe on my right foot so bad that I thought I had broken it.  I stopped at a nearby bench but because of the sprinklers it was covered in water.  Blergh.  So I balanced on one foot as I removed my shoe and sock.  There had been a situation developing with my right little toe and it had just leveled up.

It started as a small blister on the bottom of my toe, but over all of my runs has grown until it was really more blister than toe – it now travels all the way up a toe and forms a little hat for my toe at the top. I’ve been trying different stuff to deal with it with limited success, but compared to the blisters I used to get on the balls of my feet this is so much better that I wasn’t super worried about it  For this run I had used anti-blister goo, then pre-wrap, then leukotape. The whole thing had started to dislodge and the pain was because some of the tape and pre-wrap had lodged themselves under the blister.  I had no choice but to pull it all off which meant a really uncomfortable final two miles.

I was pushing as hard as I could, I kept imagining myself celebrating in the parking lot for meeting this milestone time and that vision helped me keep pushing.  I finished having run one more mile than last week and averaging 24 seconds per mile faster than last week.  I celebrated in the parking lot.

Then the real pain hit.  I don’t know if this is everyone’s experience but, for me, as long as I’m moving the pain is bearable, but when I stop running all of it hits me.  I could barely make it to (and into) my car.  My legs were screaming in pain. I occurred to me that maybe I shouldn’t have pushed so hard.  My legs hurt for hours, after pilates, resistance stretching, icing, a hot shower, Bengay, and a ton of tumeric, I was still hurting. I couldn’t even sleep because the pain kept waking me up. Maybe I could have been happy with just a 12 second per mile improvement over last week.

This seems like a good time to remind everyone – this is something I want to do for my personal reasons.  It has nothing to do with health.  I don’t recommend that anyone do this. Doing this doesn’t make me – or anyone else – better or worse than those who choose to do other things in their free time.

3/26/17

Bike – Recovery Ride

I was still hurting.  Usually I feel better after this ride but that was not the case today, I got off the bike and my legs started to buckle. Ugh. Another week closer to the IRONMAN and I am working as hard as I can.

This week’s selfies:

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road to Arizona 2017: Monday Recap 16

  1. I’m consoled to know that I’m not the only one who struggles with hydration and nutrition during longer bouts of activity. I posted on my facebook page, as well as an Athena’s page about my personal issue as a non-early morning eater conflicting with race day scenarios, and how to overcome that. My idea is that I may try to get in my calories the night before with a big dinner and then prepare homemade snacks for transitions (there’s a protein bar that I make that seems to work with my gut, even if I have the race jitters), but I’m not sure if it’ll actually work. Will have to practice, I suppose. I’m gonna try the roasted sweet potatoes, too now!

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    That blister sounds horrible! As do the leg pains. I’m proud that you are still pushing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

