Not Exactly a Hand Cycle

Day three working out in the boot. I really struggled mentally today.  Even though I’m doing these workout at the highest intensity, it’s still not the same as my regular workouts.  I go back and forth from feeling hopeful to feeling hopeless.  Sometimes it’s an hour by hour swing, but today feels like there is a little raincloud over my head.

Seated cardio:  Tried yet another seated workout video.  This one was just cardio and not interval-based.  It was ok, got my heart rate up a bit.

Krankcycle: when I told my coach that my gym has a handcycle, it was because I had seen it out of the corner of my eye on my way into the gym.  Today was the first time I actually got a good look at it. It did not occur to me that this would take any particular skill – just like peddling, but using your arms instead. It turns out it’s not a handcycle, it’s a Krankcycle”  which is a thing.  It has a weighted flywheel like a spin bike and it adjusts by turning 180 degrees, and by tilting toward and away from you, and you can adjust the intensity.  I had a bit of a learning curve figuring out how to do the resistance to get a smooth workout.

I just imitated peddling with my hands but when I came home I did some Googling and it turns out that there are several ways that you can use the machine so at least next time I’ll have some variety. I also realized too late that I wasn’t paying attention to the foot in the boot and I was pushing and leaning into it exactly the way I’m not supposed to.  I only realized when it started aching.  Oops. Now I know, and knowing’s half the battle. Good news for the spin bike, when it comes to “most boring workout in the world” the spin bike just moved up a spot.

500 crunches

100 one-legged wall pushups. Between all the arm work with the seated cardio and the Krankcycle my arms feel pretty cooked so I stopped at 100

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not Exactly a Hand Cycle

  1. Denny says:

    So amazed ragen!

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Your arms are getting quite the workout. Keep this up and you won’t need your legs at all for the iron man.

    Like

  3. nosnikrapzil says:

    I do mostly upper body exercise. I wish my gym had a hand bike like the one you describe. I also wish I didnt have such huge arm arm muscles. I have serious problems with RTW clothing which has sleeves in. On a serious point, it might be something to be aware of regarding your wetsuit.

    Like

    • “Luckily” the only triathlon wetsuit in the world that fits me (literally!) is sleeveless. It doesn’t help me doing early season races in the freezing cold ocean, but it does allow me to not worry about upper body bulking 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • nosnikrapzil says:

        That is a definite advantage – financially as well as practically, since I assume large size wetsuits are expensive, and made to measure ones even more so if you needed larger arms adding.

        Like

  4. rabbiadar says:

    Cheering for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

