And boy are my arms tired…

Today was another KrankCycle workout.  Little blip at the beginning, I got about 6 minutes away from my house and realized that I had forgotten my headphones.  I asked myself – can I get through 45 minutes of this with no entertainment for distraction? That’s when I turned the car around.

I got through it – in large part thanks to listening to the West Wing Podcast (thanks to everyone who recommended this to me and particularly to Aaron for the most recent push.) My upper body is getting pretty worn out since it’s basically my only way of generating a cardio workout right now (which brings us to today’s random movie quote “How am I supposed to hit if I can’t lift my arms?”)

I was planning to try the seated rope climb machine but there was someone on it the whole time.  Literally – the dude was on the machine when I arrived at the gym with a puddle of sweat under him, and he was still on it and going strong when I left.  I don’t know what he’s training for but my money’s on him to get it done.

I also got my 500 crunches in.  Someone on Twitter assumed I do them all at the same time, so I thought I’d clarify. I do them in two sets – half first thing in the morning and the other half after my workout.  But it does have me wondering if I could do 500 in a row.  I’ll give it a shot tomorrow and report back.

To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of crunches – I was teaching step aerobics at Gold’s Gym way back when those 15 minute abs classes became a thing and it made me question the popularity of crunches when there are so many better options (Pilates, planks, push-ups, and even some that don’t start with “p”)   Unfortunately those options aren’t really available to me either because of the current situation with the boot, or because they depend on a lot of upper body work and I’m already getting enough of that so, at least for now, crunches it is!

I see the doctor on Monday morning. In Ragen’s dream world he’ll say “I can’t believe that it healed completely this fast – get out of here and get back to your full training schedule!”  In Ragen’s hopefully more realistic world I’ll at least be cleared to ride my bike (even if I have the wear the boot the rest of the time) and I can leave the KrankCycle behind. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

Today’s workout selfie:

6.9.17 KrankCycle

Also take a moment to check out my new pink headphones!

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And boy are my arms tired…

  1. Holly says:

    Cute headphones! Crossing my fingers for a good report from the doc.

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Definitely hoping you can ride the bike! I still want to hear about the rope climber, so I hope you try it out even if you can bike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

