Frustration in Bootlandia

I’m not going to lie y’all, I’m getting super frustrated with this ankle situation.  I was supposed to swim this weekend but after walking more than I expected in the boot  my ankle really hurt and of everything I’ve tried so far, swimming is the most painful (removing the air from the waterproof cover compresses the boot which hurts, and kicking – even inadvertently – hurts as well.)  I’m also crossing my fingers that it’s not the actual injury that hurts, but rather that my ankle and foot hurt from being held immobile in the boot.

My first thought is to just do it anyway (especially while I’m watching the days dwindle until the IM,) just do the workout now, and do a ton of icing and elevating later. That said, as I mentioned before, I don’t want to do damage now that will prolong the recovery – especially when I can’t practice proper swim technique anyway.  I’m seeing the doctor tomorrow so I decided to do the workout that causes the least pain and stress on the ankle for today and then have a good talk with him tomorrow about risks and what’s possible.

Meanwhile, Julianne woke up with a terrible head cold this morning so in between making her soup and tea, I’m pounding Airborne and crossing my fingers that I don’t get it – being sick is the last thing I need right now.

Crunch report:  As I mentioned in my last post, I normally do my crunches in two sets but someone assumed that I did all 500 in a row and that inspired me to see if I could do that.  I couldn’t.  I got to 400 with the last 6 pretty sketchy on the technique (ie: pulling on my neck, trying to recruit other muscles etc.) and that was for sure all I could do.  I rested for a few minutes and then knocked out the final 100. So, 500 crunches in a row will be a new goal just for the hell of it.

I’m off to the doctor in a few hours, cross your fingers for me please!

Today’s workouts:

Seated Interval Workout

500 crunches (not all in a row!)

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frustration in Bootlandia

  1. Denny says:

    Ragen of all the thing have you done to I Ross me. The crunches thing just amazes me I used to have my kids at Tae knowing do do crunches and even my most advanced black belt could only do 50!

    Like

  2. cg says:

    Have you tried swimming without the boot? I had a torn ligaments in my ankle a few years back. My last four weeks I was in a walking boot and I would take it off to swim. I couldn’t kick and used my arms for power so I was a bit slower but it worked! Good luck!

    Like

    • Thanks! Unfortunately the doctor told me very specifically that he didn’t want me to do anything without the boot on for these two weeks (no swimming, no running in the water etc.) If he wants me to keep wearing the boot, one of the concessions I’m hoping to get is that I can swim and bike without the boot if I promise to ice it afterwards.

      ~Ragen

      Like

  3. lsstrout says:

    Love the card and stickers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

