Everything But Running

Walk a LotToday was my two week checkup with the sports podiatrist.  My dream was that he would say I was all better and could get back into training with no restrictions  My realistic hope was that he would say that I could swim and bike without the boot.  I even brought my “Sneaker of Optimism” in case he said I didn’t have to wear the boot anymore.

It actually went really well.  I was nervous as he pressed on the injured area – two weeks ago I almost came off the chair, but today it just felt a little sore.  He was really happy with how little swelling there was and how much better the ligament was.  I joked yesterday that my ankle was hurting but I didn’t know if it was the injury or if it was from my foot and ankle being stuck in the boot.  It turns out that part of it was from my foot and ankle being stuck in the boot! He cleared me to swim, bike, and walk without the boot. I’m supposed to wear the boot when I’m not working out, keeping icing the crap out of it,  and I’m supposed to stop working out if it starts to hurt but at least I can get back to it. So Bootzilla and I aren’t completely breaking up, but we will be giving each other some space.

Coach Steve and I had a phone call and we are both excited to get me back to training, and we have a plan to get me to the finish line if I can execute it. Today was a bike workout on the trainer.  I was able to do half of it before my ankle started to hurt, I think it had a lot to do with the fact that I was doing the workout at the end of the day and I think I may have been too ambitious.  The workout was the first half easy and then add some effort for the second half. I cranked up the gear and felt the pain immediately, bad call. But, I’m back in the saddle and after two weeks of KrankCycle I’m happy with that.

Workouts:

Bike on the trainer

500 crunches

Today’s workout selfie:

6.12.17 bike

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Everything But Running

  1. Denny says:

    So happy for you Ragen!

    Like

  2. cbecker53 says:

    woo-hoo! Now obey the doc! ice the hell out of it, wear the boot when not working out, and STOP when it hurts!! I mean it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lsstrout says:

    Hooray for being able to carefully do stuff without the boot!

    Like

  4. Ziggy Blum says:

    Yay! You look REALLY happy in that selfie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

