Locker Room Talk

I’ll get to today’s workout in a moment but first I need to have a little talk with the people who use the same locker room I do.  I’m talking to y’all because I don’t know what goes on in the other locker room.  But I know what goes on in our locker room, and it is some bullshit.

Today as I tried to find a shower to use after my swim, I found that every single shower stall had a bunch of hair in the drain.  Almost half of them also had a wet towel left behind on the shelf, and the blue ribbon loser had a hairball on the floor, a hairball on the wall, a soaked towel on the shelf, and a FLOSS PICK on the floor.  WT Actual F?  I mean, seriously.

Let me say that if you are someone with a disability that causes these situations, I’m definitely not talking to you.  I’m talking to people who can pick up their hair, and towels, and floss sticks but don’t.  If you want to plaster every surface in your bathroom at home with your hair, and have a floor covered with floss sticks (I mean, ouch, but whatever) knock yourself out, that’s your bathroom.  This is NOT your bathroom, this is everyone’s bathroom. Kindly pull your shit together.

And while we’re on the subject, horking (hocking?) loogies (lougies?) on the floor is a big bowl of nope.  Just no.  Story time: I once took off my swimsuit to rinse it in the shower and accidentally dropped it.  When I picked it up, someone else’s mucus was all over it.  I hadn’t seen it because the floor of the shower is pretty much mucus colored. I’m grateful that 1. I dropped my suit onto it instead of stepping in it and, 2. it was a really old suit so I decided that it had had its last swim and I threw it away before I added vomit to the bodily fluids on the floor.

And if you don’t work out late at night, you probably haven’t met Marta, who cleans our locker room as well as a lot of the rest of the gym.  Marta works her ass off and always takes the time to smile and say hi. When I came in with my air cast on she (despite the fact that I create a language barrier by not speaking much Spanish) took the time to say how sorry she was and wish me a speedy recovery – no other employee, including the front desk person who regularly watches me the whole time as I limp in, has even mentioned it. What I’m getting at is that Marta is awesome, and she has a lot of things to clean, and none of them should be our hair from the shower drain.

Can we please be together on this?  Can we give Marta and each other a break and put our towels in the used towel bin and our hair and (I can’t believe I have to type this) floss sticks in the trash (both of which we pass on the way from the showers to the lockers by the way)?  Can we? Please?  Thanks.

Today’s workout:

I got to swim without the boot.  It was glorious, though still slow because I’m trying not to kick and I can’t turn properly.  As regular readers know I’m a Total Immersion swimmer which means that I don’t do a big flutter kick thing, but the kick does help drive the rotation that creates the power in a TI stroke.  It was easy not to kick with the boot on since it was so buoyant, but muscle memory kept kicking in (see what I did there) and I would kick and it would hurt so after about 1,000 meters of drills, speed work, and then steady swimming my ankle was pretty sore.  Got home and iced it and it’s feeling great so I’m very happy.  Tomorrow I get to try walking – woo hoo.  I’m excited about the walking and excited because I’ll be listening The West Wing Weekly podcast, which I can’t believe took me so long to start.

Speaking of podcasts, I got to be interviewed for Dietitians Unplugged, one of my favorite podcasts and it was super fun! We talked about ways to make the fitness world more accessible for fat bodies.  You can check out my interview and/or the other fantastic episodes at http://dietitiansunplugged.libsyn.com/!

Today’s Selfies (swimsuit courtesy of Swimsuits for All!)

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Locker Room Talk

  1. Denny says:

    So glad about the swimming Ragen! I’m sorry about the locker room, I’m sure it will get better.

    Like

  2. nosnikrapzil says:

    The stuff about people in your locker room is awful; how can people do that! Ours isn’t bad, but then I go at 7.00 a.m. so perhaps it hasn’t built up yet.

    Glad you are out of the boot – I can kind of sympathise, because although I haven’t had one, my daughter had one for 5 months. She was living with us at the time; it wasn’t fun at all.

    Like

  3. Alison says:

    Love that suit!!! What brand is it?

    Like

  4. cbecker53 says:

    Why would ANYone be flossing in the shower at the gym?? I’m so sorry people are so icky about this shared space. Glad you and your ankle are so happy to be free!

    Like

  5. lsstrout says:

    I’m always astonished at how some people use shared space as some kind of garbage dump. Hooray for swimming without the boot!

    Like

  6. zoeforman says:

    Yuck 🤢 is this a public pool or private sports club ? Either way sounds grim but good swim

    Like

Leave a Reply

