Just a Little Bit Bad

Yesterday I was scheduled for my first walk since the injury, but I woke up with my ankle in pain and it hurt all day so I was only able to complete my 500 crunches.

Today I was scheduled for a bike ride.  I tried to do it on the trainer but I’m having issues with my seat that I’ll tell you about when I understand what’s going on, so for today the short story is that I had to haul my cookies to the gym to complete the workout.

The idea was to do the first half easy, and then do intervals for the second half.  My doctor’s instructions to me were the I could start working out if I promised to stop when it hurt and not to work though pain.

I made it though the first half fine, and I tried not to repeat the mistake of my last ride by not cranking up the resistance too high for the first interval, so I added resistance and increased my cadence.  That went ok but toward the end of the interval I felt a little pain. I’m frustrated with the limitation and so I decided that I would back it  way off for the easy interval and see if the pain continued.  It went away and I felt fine.  The next interval was going ok, I just started to feel the littlest bit of pain at the end of the interval, so I was going to back way off again for the next interval and see if I could get the pain to stop. But as I reached for my water bottle, my left foot flexed more than I wanted it to and pain shot through it, so I called it a day.  Still grateful to actually be back at it, very happy that I was able to go longer than my last bike workout, but also aware that the time is ticking away.

Also completed my 500 crunches.

Today’s Selfie:

2.15.17 Bike

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just a Little Bit Bad

  1. Laura Hamm says:

    Yay for progress! You amaze. Do you do 500 crunches every day? Are they the typical crunches?

    Like

  2. Denny says:

    I wanted to say in the last blog that please be careful walking around locker rooms barefoot! I notice in the self shot in the locker rook you didn’t have shower slippers on. I don’t want to be gross but I got a terrible case of toenail fungus not wearing shower slippers and the only cure is medicine that is very harsh on your liver and you can’t even take it if you are on common medications like Paxil, Lipitor and blood pressure,

    Like

  3. cbecker53 says:

    Be SO careful!! You don’t want to re-injure, and you want to be able to Ironman!

    Like

  4. lsstrout says:

    I hope it finishes healing quickly!

    Like

  5. Q. Penelope says:

    Your smile looks radiant here

    Like

Leave a Reply

