Sorry Bootzilla, It’s Not You, It’s Me

Bootzilla and I are officially broken up!  No more cast as of Monday. Woot!  Now, let’s get caught up on my workouts:

Sunday was a walk and a trainer ride:

The walk was a serious struggle, I went much faster than I had gone earlier this week (but still not nearly my usual speed.)  It wasn’t the injury that hurt, but the rest of the leg, I assume from being immobile in the cast for so long.  I stopped several times to try to stretch/massage it out but it was rough.  I think that this can be solved by some physical therapy/massage.

The trainer ride was just a long steady ride and it went fine and was pretty uneventful.

Monday was another trainer ride, this one was long intervals, but the intervals were harder gear and lower cadence  I felt like I was able to push more than I have been in a while which is good.

Tuesday was an interval swim.  That went fine and was closer to my old times so that’s good.

Today was supposed to be aqua jogging.  Per my coach “aqua jogging is going to be your jam!”

Aqua jogging is not my jam.  It hurt worse than regular walking and when I got out of the pool my ankle was swollen worse than it’s been since right after the injury.  I don’t know if the doctor let me out of the boot too soon (please don’t let it be that!) or if this is a normal part of this recovery. I’ll call the doctor tomorrow.

Still I’m happy to be making progress and I’m taking my bike in tomorrow which should be the end of the seat post nightmare. My coach is going to be in town this weekend so we’re going to do a bike ride together which should be very interesting.

Cheesy inspiration alert!  A fabulous dancer used this song on World of Dance and when I looked it up I found this awesome video so I thought I would share it with y’all:

Workout Selfies:

And a couple shots from my short-lived aquajogging attempt:

 

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sorry Bootzilla, It’s Not You, It’s Me

  1. BK says:

    I love the write up, it is very inspiring! I am new to all of this what is an interval swim?

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Woot for being boot free! I hope the aqua jogging doesn’t set you back. Those video clips show how hard it really is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

