Aqua Jogging Is Not What I Think It Is

A few weeks ago my coach put aqua jogging on my schedule.  I assumed that this meant jogging up and down the shallow part of the pool. It did not go well (it hurt my ankle more than actual jogging.)

This week I got a new note that started “Aqua jogging is not what you think it is.”  It turns out that aqua jogging is a specific thing in which you wear what I can only call a contraption around your waist that helps you float, and then you jog upright in the water, working on form and turnover.  I ordered my aqua jogger and hit the pool.  You’re supposed to do this in water that’s neck deep, my gym pool only goes up to 5 feet so it’s lucky I’m pretty short, so I’m at the proper depth.  I’m sure that there are people who love doing this and I don’t want to yuck their yum, but for me it was pretty boring. But if this is what it takes to get rehabbed then this is what I’m going to do.

Thursday was a travel day so I didn’t have a workout (Julianne and I went on a little two day trip.)  Friday I walked several miles doing vacation-y stuff. I wore my new compression brace and my ankle didn’t hurt at all – yay!

Saturday was another round of aqua jogging which went fine (I found a really good deal on a used water proofed ipod shuffle which should help alleviate the boredom of my aqua jogging filled days.

Today was a bike ride on the trainer.  It went pretty well (time flies when you are watching the Spartan Ultimate Team Challenge) and I’m looking forward to getting back out on the road.

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Aqua Jogging Is Not What I Think It Is

  1. Denny says:

    You’re doing so great! Good On the well earned vacation! My granddaughter took me to see the Emoji movie this weekend and I had supper at thier house, I got a little vacation top!

    Like

  2. Aqua jogging is a hard (mentally and physically) way to get it done when you have injury. Strong work!,

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Moniqa Aylin says:

    Neat! I also did not know that. I hope it gets more enjoyable or at least less boring for you.

    Like

  4. I’ve tried aqua jogging a couple times before — totally felt my hip flexors after that. Woooo. It must look hilarious to spectators, because I’d be furiously moving my arms and legs like a sewing machine needle, yet hardly moving forward.

    Like

  5. lsstrout says:

    LOL So glad you found the waterproof music. Now you have to find water-themed music like ‘Surfin USA’.

    Like

  6. Chutti says:

    Love hearing about your progress through your injury.
    I am one of the rare fattie folks who is both a master’s level swimmer and serious about aqua exercise. There are a LOT of folks out there doing aqua jogging, water aerobics, call it whatever, without technique or without joy. And a lot of tension between those who see water ex as a little old lady thing vs being afraid of lap swimmers.

    It seems like you like the geeky part of exercise as much as I do, so you might enjoy strength training in the water more if you had access to the resources from the AEA or better yet, an AEA certified instructor (hard to find sometimes)
    https://www.aeawave.com

    If you can get to a deeper pool (hard for me, too) and wear a floatation belt, you may find that deep water jogging allows you to perform the kinds of activities that are also fun out of the pool. Don’t skip the belt b/c you are already buoyant, it allows you to isolate specific muscle groups and get a tough workout. It’s the only weight bearing form of exercise without impact and might be great for you right now.

    Here’s a super geeky intro: http://www.humankinetics.com/excerpts/excerpts/proper-technique-to-water-running

    Wish I were in LA to come and do it with you!

    Like

  7. Hey I teach a water jogging class and I love it! It’s way harder than people think. But we have class in the deep end of the pool. Of course follow your trainer’s program, but in my class we alternate jogging, running, sprints and ab work. Most people tend to let their hips and legs float back so they are more swimming, but once you get the form down it really is a good work out. And of course, the best for keeping pressure off your joints and hurt ankle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

