Swimming to Horror Movie Music

Today did not go to plan. I had a trainer ride, strength, and swim workout to do, plus I had to deliver Julianne to the train station. I got up and knocked the bike out first thing, got Julianne to the train station with no problems, and decided to treat myself to some delicious Chinese takeout for lunch before going to the gym late to do the other two workouts.

Instead it turned out that I treated myself to what I assume was mild food poisoning.  I started feeling better around 2:30am and then waited another hour just to make sure I was ok, and then I headed to the gym.

The weight lifting went well, unfortunately I’m having to be careful of the ankle again – at Julianne’s Grandma’s funeral a woman accidentally stepped on the top of my foot in a way that pulled at the tear and now it’s hurting more than it has in a while, which is obviously a serious bummer (can I, for the love of everything, catch a freaking break?) But there’s nothing for me to do but keeping working through it.

I got changed and headed to the pool.  As soon as I started swimming I knew it was going to be a long workout.  First of all, there was a guy walking back and forth and humming/singing a song.  I don’t know what song it was, but it sounded like it was whatever they play in horror movies right before the monster kills the kid at that camp they keep going back to despite the yearly murdering of a bunch of kids by a monster.  I could just vaguely hear it as a swam but every time I did a turn it was like The Open Turn On Elm Street.

Also, the tiredness hit me a couple of laps in. I felt like a car stuck in first gear, like… I knew that I had more gears, but I couldn’t access any of them at that moment. It was sloooooow (though still more than fast enough to complete the IM under the cutoff) and it was done to a live performance of horror movie music, but at least it was done. Now I’m wide awake at 8:30am so this is shaping up to be a weird day.

Also I came home to this e-mail and wanted to give props to Pinterest for their shockingly accurate algorithm:

running and hash browns

Today’s workout selfies:

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swimming to Horror Movie Music

  1. zoeforman says:

    At least it wasn’t Jaws theme music in your head when swimming ! 🦈 well done

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Bummer about the ankle. Hooray for you for plugging through!

    Like

  3. Chutti says:

    Oh, the horror music!
    I think I might die laughing. Hubs does his special impersonation of someone singing tunelessly with headphones on when he really wants to crack me up.
    Not sure I would have made it through.

    Thanks for the laugh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

