At the Gym with Three Pairs of Shoes

Pug wearing sneakersI am going to be in trouble when Coach Steve sees my update today.  I had three workouts to do today and, technically, when I have more than one workout (excluding strength) unless he specifically says it’s a brick workout I’m supposed to put a few hours between them.  But today I had a spin, strength, and aqua jog.  The day got away from me a bit (unexpected car repair) and so I did them all at once.  Sorry Coach Steve!

This led to the realization that I really need a new bag.  I have an adorable pink argyle bag that Julianne got me that is just big enough to fit my swim stuff.  And I have a duffel that could almost fit my bike into it (I got it at the last minute for my Half IM attempt when I realized that I had all the gear I needed but no way to transport it to transition. It’s what they had at Target in Tempe and it’s a fine bag but it huge and inexplicably has no shoulder strap and I don’t love it.)

I went with the swim bag but I definitely maxed out its capacity.  As I got ready to go to the gym I felt like a line producer trying to make sure I got everything organized and packed.  This is a day that required me to be at the gym with three pairs of shoes (bike shoes, sneakers, and my poolside/shower shoes.) I’m not going to lie, that seems excessive.

The spin went fine except it went by incredibly slowly. I’m still super excited by every strength workout – yesterday I did lower body since I had to swim, today I did upper body since I had to spin and aqua jog.  The good thing about aqua jogging is that it cools me off after the other workouts.

This weird thing happened – it’s happened before and it confuses me.  My gym pool has three lanes, each of which can comfortably accommodate two people.  I was the only person in the pool when I started my workout, then another person got in to swim, and used the same lane as me.  Y’all, is this a thing?  Are there people who are excited to share a lane even though there are two empty lanes available?

Any way, the aqua jogging went by fast and then it was just a quick shower, packing up my ridiculous amount of crap, and another day’s workout’s done.  Of course it’s 8:40am and I’m still awake from yesterday so my sleep cycle is officially completely screwed but at least my workouts are done!

Today’s Selfies:

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to At the Gym with Three Pairs of Shoes

  1. lsstrout says:

    I so admire your commitment!

    Like

  2. Eden says:

    Our pool has three lanes too, designated slow, medium and fast. Swimmers are supposed to use the lane appropriate to their level. Maybe it’s the same at your pool?

    Like

  3. blueraindrop says:

    If it’s anything like my college pool, take it as a compliment. They decided that sharing with you from the start, by choice, was going to be better than whoever else might come through the door and decide to join their lane and not give them much choice in the matter.
    (The guys on the school teams were generally jerks when they had to share with non-team folks… So many of us would rather swim with another casual person from the start in a pool with empty lanes than to have some of the guys come in later and have to share with us.)

    Like

  4. Denny says:

    Hit doing so great keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

