Vacation Catch-Up Update

I knew this was going to be a tough week because I was out of town for the second half of the week.

Wednesday: spin and strength

We were headed out of town on Thursday and between packing and other errands I had to run I knew that I had two windows when I could get this done – in the afternoon, and later at night.  My afternoon window disappeared when our little dog suddenly got sick and I to rush him to the vet to make sure he hadn’t aspirated since he can easily get pneumonia.  He was fine, but I missed my chance to bike.  My night window disappeared with issues with our Turo rental.

So I pushed the bike and strength to Thursday and though it delayed the start of our vacation a bit and meant that I had to use my kind-of-crappy home hand weight set, I got the workout in (and Julianne and our friend Ericka were both very kind about it.)

I also had an aqua jog scheduled Thursday so we checked into the place we were staying and then headed to the nearest beach so that I could get it in before dark.  The nearest beach was super wavy so it wasn’t so much aqua jogging as it was fighting the waves and trying not to get our asses kicked by the ocean.

Friday was my day off.

Saturday I had another aqua jog.  This time we went to a protected area so we were able to go out until the water was over our heads and I was able to actually aqua jog. It’s away more fun in the ocean than the pool.

Yesterday we headed home, then had some family stuff, and I had to get up early in the morning so I did not get my scheduled bike in. I’m kind of bummed about that but overall I’m glad that I was able to get most of my workouts in.  This week we’ve got family visiting at the beginning of the week and then I’m out of town for a speaking gig over the weekend so it’s going to be another week of working hard to get all the workouts in.

Today was a swim focused on speed work. I was really happy with the workout.  The thing about Total Immersion swimming is that it’s technique based so if you work hard (ie: increase stroke rate) but your stroke goes to shit, then you end up working harder but not going much faster, a particularly irritating situation which I have personally experienced.  Today though my increased work actually translated to increased speed which was nice.

Workout Selfies:

 

 

About danceswithfat

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be IRONMAN, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vacation Catch-Up Update

  1. Denny says:

    It looks like the beach in California I don’t think I’ll ever see that beach again,

    Like

  2. lsstrout says:

    Sometimes you just need ruffles on your butt.

    Like

  3. Chutti says:

    aqua jog (with ruffles!) in the ocean sounds pretty great.
    I need to put that on my bucket list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

