Greetings from Sick Town

When last we spoke I woke up for Phase 2 of my wake up, work out experiment to find that I was sick. It was not great timing since were also in the middle of moving.  Again.

Last year around Thanksgiving we found out that our landlord was being foreclosed on, and we had to move in late December. We moved super fast and never really fully unpacked – our garage was a huge mess.  This year around Thanksgiving we found out that our new landlord was selling the house and so we had to move again. In order to wait for a better market, and to make sure that if this keeps happening, it doesn’t keep happening at the holidays, we decided to Airbnb around for a while, starting in Vegas (we’re fortunate to both work from home so that we can work from anywhere.) Since we’re putting our stuff in storage,  we really needed to really go through everything, get rid of the stuff we didn’t need and moved in an organized fashion like actual adults.

Which is why I took one day off and then, even though I didn’t really feel any better I woke up, did my workouts (a bike training and run respectively) and then continued to organize and pack. That was unwise. I got super sick, escalating to bronchitis, with highlights including coughing until I threw up, having to take nebulizer treatments to be able to breathe, getting worn out walking to the bathroom, and going over a week without getting more than about 4 hours of consecutive sleep.

It was the worst possible timing and super frustrating – I feel like as I’ve gone along on this journey every time I get a little bit of momentum something goes wrong.  The moment I felt a tiny bit better I had to dedicate all of my time to going through our stuff, getting rid of stuff, packing, and moving.

So we arrived in Vegas Saturday night, I had one day to unpack and recover, and my break from running, biking, and swimming ended on Monday. Monday was a run, Tuesday was a bike trainer ride and 10 squats every hour, Wednesday was a run and a swim, Thursday was a bike trainer ride and 10 squats every hour, today is my rest day.

It’s a bit of a rough re-entry, but taking a break was the right call. Longtime readers will remember that I took on this challenge to do sports that I didn’t like and that I’m not good at. I was planning to do that for 2 years. Now that I’m in the 5th year of my 2 year plan, I really needed a break to re-energize myself. Now I’ve started the 10-month push to IMAZ19.

Onward.

About Ragen Chastain

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be Iron-distance triathlete, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Greetings from Sick Town

  1. Faith says:

    Sheesh – that all sounds pretty intense!
    I am still excited to follow your journey, and … yikes!

    Hope you feel better soon, and that you guys find a great place!!

    Like

  2. Heidi says:

    Being unsettled can really affect health. Heal well, and easily.

    Like

  3. Kyrie says:

    UGH sick town. Glad you are feeling better.

    Like

  4. Linda Strout says:

    What a bunch of annoying stuff to happen in such a short time! Feel better, good luck with house hunting and training!

    Like

  5. I can empathize, friend. Achilles injury, bronchitis, pneumonia (which led to being put on an antibiotic that further compromised my Achilles injury – beware of the class of drugs known as quinolones!) and almost two months after my initial bouts of persistent coughing, I’m just starting to get back to swim and other workouts. I’m still at only about 80% recovered, so please don’t discount the value of rest as a regular part of your training regimen; I’m learning by painstaking trial and error, how important rest can be!

    Wishing you both well!

    Like

  6. standgale says:

    I assume that things like this happen to everyone with an intense schedule because any thing that happens impacts that schedule… But on the other hand it really does seem like you have really bad luck – at least when it comes to this. I wish you GOOD luck and stay strong!

    Like

Leave a comment