The Big Update Post

It’s been a while since I blogged.  This journey has been one of the most difficult and frustrating things I’ve done in my life including figuring out how to blog about it. But that will be the topic of another post.  If you want to skip reading the rest of this post, the following graphic pretty much sums up how this has gone:

Let’s recap:

Plan:

Year 1 – Half IRONMAN
Year 2 – Full IRONMAN
Year 3 – Get Finisher’s Tattoo (possibly on my forehead) and choose new goal

Actual:

Year 1 – Half IM was a disaster

Year 2 – Got really sick just before IM. Didn’t race

Year 3 – Tore a ligament running a marathon (but got a Guinness World Record!) lost a ton of training time, and during the recovery, in what I can only assume was a fit of jealousy that my torn ligament was getting all the attention, my Achilles tendon developed tendonitis so bad that I needed a whole separate rehab for that. Now instead of referring to my ankles as right and left, I call them right and WTF. I wasn’t able to train for the run – which is my nemesis. Didn’t race.

These were frustrating not just in terms of not getting to do the IM, but also because the lost training time meant backsliding. Nothing about me is good at this sport so I need the constant training just to maintain, let alone get faster. It has been so, so frustrating. I make progress, something goes wrong, I watch the progress slip away, I start over again at what feels like square one.

Year 4

Here we are in the fourth year of my two year plan. And things have once again gone horribly awry. This year it was my partner – Julianne. She got incredibly sick, impressed everyone in the ER with her 105 degree fever, and spent about two weeks in the hospital. They sent her home earlier than normal based on the fact that her mom is a nurse and I watch a lot of Grey’s Anatomy. Ok, that’s not quite accurate (I do watch any and every medical drama, that part’s true,) and I was willing to learn how to administer IV medication through a picc line, and use an infusion pump.

The problem with training during the months of home healthcare was that there was something that I had to do (push an antibiotic, change a bag on the pump etc.) every 3-4 hours, 7 days a week. And, the only stretch I had to sleep was between 4am and noon which meant that even if I found the energy to workout, the longest workout I could do was 2-3 hours, which is nothing near what I needed to do. We are lucky to, at least currently, have good insurance, but we had to save the home nursing visits they approved for the times when I would be away giving talks that I had already been booked for (so that I could, you know, pay my bills.)

To be clear, plenty of people could have overcome this. They could have done the short workouts, lost a few months of full-out training and still made it. I am not one of those people. As regular readers already know, I am, to put it simply, glacially slow. The distances aren’t the issue for me, it’s the time cut-offs. At my best, I am right on the edge of the cut-off times. So losing that training time put finishing the IM out of reach for me – I would not be able to make the time cut-offs.

That meant I had to look at my options, remembering that I had told myself that this was definitely the last year. Here’s what I came up with:

Go to the race and get pulled off the course at some point when I missed a time cut-off

I entertained this for a while but ultimately rejected it based on my coach’s philosophy, that I agree with, that you shouldn’t do a race you can’t finish. If I’m out there, going slower than race pace on a course with loops like IMAZ has, I’m just in people’s way, and using resources that people who have a chance of finishing could use. I totally respect people who take another path but it just didn’t seem right for me.

Stage my own event at home, without time limits

Maybe I couldn’t get the times fast enough, but I could create my own looped course at home. I could just keep going until I was done. That would mean I kinda sorta achieved my goal?

Just fucking quit

Seriously, I gave this IM goal more than the old college try, hundreds and hundreds of miles swum, biked, and run, and I’m still at a place where losing a couple months of training means losing my chance at finishing. As someone who had spent her life only participating in sports that I was good at right away, I did this to get out of my comfort zone and work hard at sports that I’m not good at. I got way more than I bargained for and it has been far more difficult than I had ever imagined.

Honestly, I thought that this would go way better. I thought I would get faster much more quickly. So much of this journey has been soul-crushing, looking down at my watch again and again and realizing that I wasn’t hitting my speed goal, that I was still. too. slow.  Skipping shorter events that might have been fun because it would throw off my weekend workouts and I needed the training more than I needed to do a sprint tri. It sucked. And reminded me why I always stuck to fast twitch muscle activities in the past!

I set a massive, very difficult to achieve goal, I worked my ass off to achieve it. And I haven’t. I feel no shame in failing or quitting. And I can make plenty of good arguments for why quitting is the best idea.

Try again next year

I don’t feel shame in quitting, but I do feel…irritation, disappointment, frustration.  I’ve put a tremendous amount of work into this. I believe that I can do this. But do I really want to dedicate another year of actual blood, sweat, and tears to this goal?

I do. And a big part of the reason why is…Oceanside.

The IRONMAN organization has been incredibly supportive of me, for which I am eternally grateful.  Sarah Hartmann, the Acting Executive Director of the IRONMAN Foundation invited me to check out the 70.3 (aka Half IRONMAN) in Oceanside.

Ragen 1

Sarah is inspiring, and amazing and super fun to hang out with and she knows LITERALLY everybody. LITERALLY.

She gave me a VIP pass, and some extra awesome Women for Tri and IRONMAN Foundation swag!

 

 

The VIP area was at the finish line. I was just a few feet away from the athletes e as they crossed.  Oh and Mike Reilly was there (you may remember me mentioning him in the very first post of this blog, in the FAQs and basically whenever I talk about the IM!)

 

 

I can’t even fully describe how inspiring it was to stand there and hear him call people’s names as they made it to the finish line – some were dancing, some were hugging and high-fiving friends who were on the sidelines, some were sprinting, and some were just barely vertical, but all of them were triumphant.

Sarah took me around and I got to meet the Editor-in-Chief of Triathlete Magazine, the IRONMAN publicity team, and Paul Huddle, head of IRONMAN’s operations, who were all phenomenally supportive and gave me great advice.

At this point I was completely overwhelmed – I am not good at remaining cool while meeting people I admire and so I had to split my energy between meeting truly amazing people, and not looking like a blathering dork while I was doing it. And then we passed the announcing booth and Sarah asked if I wanted to meet Mike Reilly.

She introduced us. He was exactly as kind and supportive as he seems when he’s up there announcing and encouraging the athletes. Sarah told him that I was doing IMAZ and he put his hand on my shoulder, looked me dead in the eye and said “I can’t wait to call your name.” I mean…I just..It was…

With Mike Reilly

OMG I met Mike Reilly!!!!!

When I started this, I wanted Mike Reilly to call my name. And Mike Reilly wants to call my name. So obviously this needs to happen!

I still believe that I can finish IRONMAN Arizona but, perhaps more importantly, I still want to try. And, as I’ve said before, I think that my dreams and goals – however difficult or huge or possibly impossible –  are worth the effort. And so I’m in for one more year.

I’m so appreciative of the IM organization, all of you who have supported my journey with positive comments here, or on social media, and to the people in my life who support my dreams – including and especially Julianne who, in addition to supporting me day to day, has gone through these ups and downs with me and has never once wavered in her support of me or this goal.

Onward.

Medal

My unofficial motto.

 

About Ragen Chastain

Hi, I’m Ragen Chastain. Speaker, Writer, Dancer, Choreographer, Marathoner, Soon to be Iron-distance triathlete, Activist, Fat Person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Big Update Post

  1. tscateh says:

    YES YES YES!!! You go!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gsantollo says:

    I signed up for my first IM in 2007 I finished my first IM in 2015. More then a few things have to align for this goal to be achieved. I was signed up for an Ironman this summer never made it to the starting line. If you keep at it, it will happen. “Anything is possible” Ironman. Always picture with Mike too he is the dude.

    Like

  3. grrlpup says:

    I love this blog so much. I believe in you. Next year we’ll be reading a post about what to do after finishing IM.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rebecca says:

    You’re amazing Ragen. I was wondering how you were doing. Glad to still be with you on your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mrsa122995 says:

    I would have been excited and happy for you, whatever you decided. The way you expressed your decision, it’s clear your heart is in it and I got a huge smile from reading about it. So so so pleased for you and rooting for you every step of the way.

    Like

  6. Good job Ragen choosing to finish. I was signed up for IMAZ this year too (finished it last year- my first official IM finish). I have to have hip surgery instead. 9 months of recovery after. I figure I can walk the run next year if I can get the bike and swim splits down some during hip surgery recovery. I think I will sign up again now that I know you will be there too. We can cross the finish line together.

    Like

  7. Rebecca B says:

    Wow! Wow to you sticking in there – super impressed – I gave up on my idea to do an Ironman but now you’ve got me re-thinking. Wow to that awesome day you had and a photo with Mike Reilly! I can feel your inspiration getting into my brain. I wish you an awesome year of training and look forward to following your progress when you feel you can blog.
    Hope Julianne is a whole lot better now.

    Like

  8. nosnikrapzil says:

    WOW! I am proud to know you, you are so strong and so determined, and take set backs so positively!

    Like

  9. Angela says:

    Ragen, you are a true inspiration!! Sending you all the good vibes to achieve this goal and support you on your journey!

    Like

  10. Oh wow, this post was truly nerve-wracking — will she? Won’t she? WOo! I feel like I’ve been through some of this journey with you on my end — last year was supposed to be my first HIM year but the stress of losing my stepdad and working two jobs left me vulnerable and I injured my Achilles, which took me out of race contention all season. I can TOTALLY empathize with the frustration of all the time, energy, money and emotional energy invested in the sport — good thing I love the sport and its community. I am so psyched for you and I too, can’t wait for Mike Reilly to call your name out! Onward and forward! xox

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Amy, you’ve been so supportive since the beginning, I really appreciate you still being here. I’m so sorry about your loss and the subsequence injuries, I’m looking forward to reading more about your race adventures too. You inspire me! Big Fat Hugs to you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. A Tri is on my bucket list. I’ve had a long struggle with getting in shape over the last few years and regressed some over the past two since having a baby. I’m still trying though. I love reading your journey. Partly, its the struggle that I admire. Everything looks great and easy, like one of those movie montages where the underdog triumphs over adversity by closing notes of “Eye of the Tiger,” but in real life…its the waking up every day to do it all over again that makes the difference. You don’t make it look easy, but you do show how it can be done by putting one (sore) foot in front of the other. So one day I will do my Tri and I will think about folks like you who blazed a path before me. High five, ma’am!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Julie B. says:

    Yay! You are such a badass and have worked so hard at this. I believe this is your year!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Holly says:

    Ahhh I’m so excited for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Linda Strout says:

    *HEALING MOJO* For Julia! I will be cheering you on as long as you do this. *HUGS*

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jay says:

    i BURST into tears when you wrote what Mike Riley said. BURST. So excited to keep following your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. standgale says:

    I just checked in to see if you were still alive and all that, so I am very excited to see this post and the ones following it. I find it really inspiring and interesting to read about your Ironman efforts. I think it would be equally interesting to follow your journey to achieving any big goal, but I’m glad you’re able to give this one another go!

    Like

Leave a comment